NEISA Open Team Race Championship/Fowle


Saturday, April 8:

It was a very challenging first day of racing at the NEISA Open Team Race Championship for the Fowle Trophy, co-hosted by Brown and Roger Williams out of the Ted Turner '60 Sailing Pavilion at the Edgewood Yacht Club. 46 Round 1 races out of 66 were completed in extremely shifty conditions out of the West all the way to the Northeast with big velocity differences throughout each race. Over a half dozen races were abandoned. A nice 6-10 knot Seabreeze filled in around 5:30pm for the last 6 races of the day, sailing until the 6pm cutoff. 2017 Zim FJs and 2022 Zim 420e's were used. One redress were heard at the end of the day.

Sunday, April 9:

It was another tough day for racing at the NEISA Open Team Race Championship for the Fowle Trophy. The Race Committee attempted to start racing on time at 10:00am in a light easterly.  A Brown vs Yale resail was abandoned to begin the day as the easterly completely faded.  We sat around all day waiting for something to materialize and by 2pm it was determined that we were not going to be able to finish Round 1. The seabreeze out in Narragansett Bay could be seen just a few miles out, and finally reached the course by 3:00pm to start racing.  With the field having been pre-seeded into two groups of six, the only way to get the regatta in at this point was to advance the top three from each group to a Gold Round/Top 6 in FJs and Silver/Bottom 6 in 420s.  Everyone's first 5 races of Round 1 were sailed against teams in the groups of 6. Group A Results: 1. Yale 4-1 2. Dartmouth 3-2 2. Tufts 3-2 4. Brown 2-3 4. Conn College 2-3 6. MIT 1-4  

Group B Results: 1. Roger Williams 4-1 1. Harvard 4-1 3. Coast Guard 3-2 4. Bowdoin 2-3 4. BU 2-36. Boston College 0-5

Once we finished the remaining races by 4:30pm, we had some sail-offs to break ties for 3rd overall (a four way sail off) and between Brown and MIT for 8th place and Conn College and Bowdoin for 10th place.  Once the seabreeze filled, the racing was nearly perfect, with South/SW winds around 10-15 knots.  Because of the sail-offs we sailed until almost 6pm on Easter Sunday.  Then there were 3 hearings afterwards for a black flag and two redresses.  It's was a long day and weekend for everyone involved.  A tremendous thanks to everyone who was involved this weekend: PRO Jack Reiter (Roger Williams) and support from Roger Williams on the water. Amanda Callahan (Roger Williams) for helping with the format, rotation, and on-land help. David Thompson (Coast Guard) for being the NEISA Rep and helping with format, rotation, and SI's. Greg Wilkinson (Boston College) for help with the rotation. All of the Brown sailors who helped with scoring, finishes, and on-land support. Our terrific umpire team, led by Chief Umpire Pearson Potts, Trevor Long, Sam Patterson, Julia Reynolds, John Mastrandrea, John Pratt, John Mooney, Jimmy Kennedy, Luke Ingalls, Abby Cook, Mike Campbell, and Sterline Worrell. They went above and beyond this weekend. Thanks to everyone who was able to lend us powerboats: the Moses Brown School, Connecticut College, Roger Williams, and Dartmouth. And finally, to Rob Migliaccio for the incredible pics from throughout the weekend.

Congratulations to Yale on winning the NEISA Open Team Race Championship for the Fowle Trophy! 

Final Results

1YaleYale UniversityBulldogs4/1Jack Egan '25Catherine Webb '23
Stephan Baker '26Meredith Ryan '23
Teddy Nicolosi '24Anisha Arcot '23
2Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks3/2Aidan Hoogland '24Molly Matthews '23
Carlos de Castro '26Carly Kiss '25
Cameron Wood '22Michaela ODonnell '24
*3HarvardHarvard UniversityCrimson2/3Justin Callahan '26Marbella Marlo '24
Lachlain McGranahan '24Christopher Wang '23
Mitchell Callahan '26Kennedy Leehealey '26
**4Coast GuardU. S. Coast Guard AcademyBears2/3Daniel Unangst '24Jack Farrell '23
Colman Schofield '25Lauren O'Neill '24
Matthew Kickhafer '23Charles Mason '23
Charles Pohl '26
b5DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green2/3Robert Bragg '23Yumi Yoshiyasu '24
Maddie Hawkins '24Drew Clutterbuck '23
William Michels '25Aisling Sullivan '22
Elise Donovan '24
Reese Bragg '25
Madeleine Hughes '26
c6TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos2/3John Eastman '25Amelia Carlson '24
Patrick Mulcahy '23Caroline Kelly '23
Trevor Davis '24Henry Tindall '25
Ben Mueller '26Celia Byrne '24
William Eykyn '25
7Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers4/1Micky Munns '23Matthew Hamelsky '23
Noah Robitshek '25Abigail Murray '23
Tyler Mowry '23Catherine Shakin '23
c8BrownBrown UniversityBears3/2Guthrie Braun '26Emily Mueller '25
Liam O'Keefe '26Lily Shore '24
Connor Nelson '24Nora Ong '23
Izzy Cox '23
d9MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers3/2Sam Bruce '24Nicholas Abate '25
Maks Groom '24Maaya Prasad '22
Julius Heitkoetter '25Wendy Wu '23
Jemma Schroder '24
Abigail VanLonkhuyzen '23
e10Connecticut CollegeConnecticut CollegeCamels2/3CJ Mckenna '23Alexandra Tillinghast '23
Walter Henry '23Liam Gronda '25
Thomas Whittemore '23Clifton Carragher '25
Cecilia Bohan '24
f11BowdoinBowdoin CollegePolar Bears2/3Christopher Lukens '23Timmy Gee '25
Sam Bonauto '25Jondall Norris '25
Thomas Hall '25Hattie Slayton '23
Thibault Antonietti '24Meghan Gonzalez '23
12Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles1/4Michael Kirkman '25Sara Schumann '25
Colleen O'Brien '24Lilly Mathieu '23
Michaela O'Brien '24John (Jack) Plavan '23
Chip Kreuzkamp '24
*Number of races won when tied teams met (4)
**Total points scored when tied teams met (23)
bTotal points scored when tied teams met (25)
cNumber of races won when tied teams met (2)
dNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)
eTotal points scored when tied teams met (22)
fTotal points scored when tied teams met (20)