The Ivan Geiger Team Race Regatta


Saturday, March 19:

Rain with temps in the mid 40s and a ENE breeze at 4-7 knots allowed the teams entered in the Geiger Trophy to complete 40 of the 56 races scheduled today. Eventually the breeze collapsed and it was agreed that it would be better to finish these races tomorrow and decide on remaining format when we see what the conditions actually are. We had a ton of help from Oaklin Keefe, Scott Dynes, Trevor Long and Emily Haig as umpires and finish boat personnel, too. Wally Corwin kept everything shipshape at the pavilion for all the competitors and lots of parents also visiting again. It's been awhile....

Ike Geiger was the MIT Athletic Director in the 1950s and 60s and was instrumental in changing the athletic department support of sailing into a full commitment of personnel and facility while also encouraging the establishment of women's sailing as a varsity sport and including sailing PE as part of the GIR at MIT. In prior years the event has been hosted using up to 6 divisions with Rhodes 18s and 19s, Finns, 470s, 505s, techs solo and double, Lasers, Larks, 420s, FJs and InterClub dinghies.

Sunday, March 20:

Much more comfortable conditions were on tap for Sunday. An early SW breeze gave way to a west wind at 4-7 knots. Eventually the breeze freshened to 10-12 knots from the WNW which made for wonderful full 10 minute races. Oaklin Keefe handled all the scoring and finishes today while Wally Corwin kept the boats working flawlessly. Emily Haig and Trevor Long made umpire calls on the water and, as a result, there were no protests to be heard at the conclusion of competition.

The MIT Engineers women's sailing team enjoyed their home field advantage and captured the 2022 Geiger Trophy for the first time in a very long time. Dana Haig, Brooke Schmelz and Kaila Pfrang were in the back of the boat all weekend and crews Shayne Mersin, Grace Mao, Mercedes Escandon and Maile Jim shared the crewing responsibilities on the red hot MIT team. Many thanks to all the competitors who took great care of the boats and showed off some specacular boat handling all weekend long.

Franny Charles, MIT Sailing Master

Final Results

1MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers17/4Dana Haig '22Shayne Bersin '25
Brooke Schmelz '25Grace Mao '23
Kaila Pfrang '21Mercedes Escandon '25
Maile Jim '22
2Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles16/5Robert Hunter '22Emma Batcher '22
Michaela O'Brien '24Laura Ferraris '22
Libby Redmond '24Lourdes Gallo '24
3BrownBrown UniversityBears13/8William George '23Lily Shore '24
Jed Bell '23Menasha Leport '25
Thomas Styron '24Olivia MILLER '25
4Coast GuardU. S. Coast Guard AcademyBears12/9Nathan Olmsted '23Charles Mason '23
Nicholas Reeser '25Mia Quinlan '24
Jack Derry '25Daniel Neville '25
Peter McGonagle '25
5BowdoinBowdoin CollegePolar Bears10/11Thomas Hall '25Luisa Louchheim '25
Sam Bonauto '25John Seider '22
Benjamin Stevens '25Jondall Norris '25
Jonathan Chance '23Holliss Hirsch '25
6NortheasternNortheastern UniversityHuskies8/13Adrian van der Wal '22Emma Cole '25
Caleb Niles '22Reid Wishner '24
Ted Bjerregaard '23Abigail Thress '24
7Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks7/14George Higham '23Callum Robbins '22
Luke Hosek '24Katharine Benagh '24
William Bailey '24Izaiah Farr '23
Ian Coen '24
8Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers1/20Micky Munns '23Chet Swanson '23
Nicholas Hardy '24Matthew Hamelsky '23
Nathan Selian '25Grace Murphy '25