PCCSC Carter Ford Team Race Championship


Saturday, April 8:

Racing started with a slight delay due to the tides though the breeze was sail-able. Around noon the fleet sailed out of Redwood Creek and into a corner of the south San Fransisco Bay. The course was set and racing commenced at 12:45. The breeze was just west of north at 7-12, the temperature was 70 degrees. Honestly, I cannot remember a more beautiful day. The race committee did not have to move a single mark to maintain a square course.

Racing was competitive and the Corinthian spirit that persists in the PCCSC was palpable. Probably due to the perfection of sailing conditions. Racing continued until 5:30 at which point the fleet sailed back to the docks.

Fair sailing was enforced by ChUmp, Rob Overton, Ty Ingram and Bryan McDonald.

Sunday, April 9:

Solid day inside the Redwood Creek. Racing commenced at 10:30a and rolled consistently right until 3:30p. 43 Races were sailed on Sunday and 41 more sailed Sunday to complete the full format, three round robins. Light breeze and long races dominated the day. Many thanks to Augie Dale, Laure Taylor, Chapman Petersen, Jack Baldwin and Tim Messina for running RC.

Stanford won the event with a 21-0 record. UCSB and Hawaii tied at 15-6. UCSB won the tie-breaker based on head-to-head record (2-1.)

Many thanks to our fantastic umpire crew! Greg Meagher and Harrison Turner joined Ty Ingram and Rob Overton, (Bryan McDonald served humbly and helpfully Saturday alone.)

Final Results

1StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal21/0Michelle Lahrkamp '23Grace Austin '24
Chapman Petersen '26Gwendolyn Donahue '24
Jack Baldwin '26Isabelle McNabb '26
Justin Lim '23Lauren Taylor '24
*2UC Santa BarbaraUniversity of California at Santa BarbaraGauchos15/6Chris Kayda '23Kate Gallagher '25
David Alexander '23Kaitlin Chan '23
Jasper Reid '25Julia Roudebush '23
Ted McDonough '25
**3HawaiiUniversity of HawaiiRainbows15/6Bastien Rasse '23Kelsie Grant '23
Erik Anderson '26Everett McAvoy '26
Owen Lahr '23Frances Tarpey-Schwed '23
Trey Summers '24Chloe Long '23
Frances Tarpey-Schwed '23
4Cal MaritimeCalifornia Maritime AcademyKeelhaulers11/10Ryan Downey '25Charles Bedford '24
Conner Skewes '25Etienne Quille '25
Kawika Tumilowicz '25Conner Skewes '25
Maxwell Roth '24Jayden Benedict '23
Logan Chapman '26
5UC Los AngelesUniversity of California at Los AngelesBruins9/12Gideon Burnes Heath '23Teresa Dang '24
Zack Taylor '23Emma Worthington '23
Marianna Shand '24Linnea Jackson '25
6BerkeleyUniversity of California at BerkeleyBears6/15Wilton Lawton '26Ethan Lisle '25
Luc LaMontagne '22Fiona Wu '25
Enzo Cremers '24Sophia Jacobs '23
Nate Ingebritson '25Viola Phillips Frank '26
Jessica Stewart '23
7Cal PolyCal Poly University S.L.O.Mustangs5/16Kai Ponting '23Maura Darby '25
Max Case '24Mira Shupe '26
Robert Bloomfield '26Chloe Schofield '23
8UC Santa CruzUniversity of California at Santa CruzBanana Slugs2/19Blake Roberts '25Eliza Murrell '26
George Soliman '24Irene Abfalterer '25
Colin Olson '26Jonathan Baker '25
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)