The 40th Grey Lynne Marchiando Team Races


Saturday, April 1:

Glassy sea conditions finally gave way to a fresh WSW breeze at 12-15 and eventually fading to 7 by 6 pm. Racing really didn't get going well until 330 but competitors ripped off a bunch of races in the warm temps of the late afternoon.

Many thanks to all the umpires who were led by Tony Weiner as our CHUMP.Emily Haig led up the scoring team. Wa;ly Corwin and Dan Tucker kept everything organized on the dock and all the boats functioning well.

Everyone will be part of the backdrop in the filming of the 'Instigators' tomorrow as the action will be on Mass Ave in the morning and right in front of the pavilion along Memorial Drive in the afternoon.

Sunday, April 2:

The event honors the memory of Lynne Marchiando, a very active sailor/ student during her undergraduate years at MIT and started every weekend with MIT's top sailor as well as being very involved with organizing NEISA as an officer, too.

Stanford had a fantastic finish as they won a re-sail of a Round 1 Race with Roger Williams and then, after winning that race, took the victory home while Roger Williams won a tie score sail-off with Harvard to finish second overall with the Crimson in third overall for the weekend. Stanford's Team included Michelle Lahrkamp '23, Patricia Gerli '23, Vanessa Lahrkamp '26, Justin Lim '23, Chapman Petersen '26, Isabelle McNabb '26 and Gwendolyn Donahue '24

A gnarly northerly at 12-25 knots made for dicey conditions and whammy headers and big ease lifts all day long. Our amazing team of umpires did their best to keep things honorable among the sailors were led by CHUMP Tony Weiner along with Sam Merson, George Eristoff, Colin Suvak, Collen Roney, Scott Booth, John Pratt, Rob Davis and Sterling Worrell. Oaklin Keefe handled scoring while boats finishing came quickly with rolling three minute sequences.

-Franny Charles, MIT Sailing Master

Final Results

1StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal11/3Michelle Lahrkamp '23Patricia Gerli '23
Vanessa Lahrkamp '26Gwendolyn Donahue '24
Chapman Petersen '26Justin Lim '23
Isabelle McNabb '26
*2Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks10/4Aidan Hoogland '24Molly Matthews '23
Carlos de Castro '26Carly Kiss '25
Cameron Wood '22Michaela ODonnell '24
Mathieu Dale '25Annika Irene '23
**3HarvardHarvard UniversityCrimson10/4Justin Callahan '26Kennedy Leehealey '26
Lachlain McGranahan '24Eric Hansen '23
Mitchell Callahan '26Christopher Wang '23
Tyler Masuyama '23
Ariel Wang '23
Grace Li '25
*4Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers7/7Micky Munns '23Matthew Hamelsky '23
Noah Robitshek '25Abigail Murray '23
Tyler Mowry '23Catherine Shakin '23
Madeline Stull '23
b5MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers7/7Sam Bruce '24Maaya Prasad '22
Maks Groom '24Wendy Wu '23
Julius Heitkoetter '25Abigail VanLonkhuyzen '23
Jemma Schroder '24
6Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles5/9Colleen O'Brien '24John (Jack) Plavan '23
Michaela O'Brien '24Lilly Mathieu '23
Michael Kirkman '25Chip Kreuzkamp '24
Peter Joslin '26Sara Schumann '25
7Coast GuardU. S. Coast Guard AcademyBears4/10Colman Schofield '25Lauren O'Neill '24
Daniel Unangst '24Charles Mason '23
Matthew Kickhafer '23Jack Farrell '23
Nicholas Reeser '25Charles Pohl '26
8Rhode IslandUniversity of Rhode IslandRams2/12Jonathan Riley '23Abbie Chipps '25
Kerem Erkmen '25Clare Laroche '23
Joshua Bartoszuk '25Parker Brown '26
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)