Spring Oberg Trophy


Saturday, April 16:

Thank you to all the teams that came out for the 81st biannual Rudi Oberg Trophy. Professor Oberg (NU Class of 1926) was a founder of the Northeastern Sailing Team and his friendship with Walter Wood of MIT helped form the bond between the NU and MIT teams that still persists today.

Sustained puffs over 25 knots led to a lot of swimming, but the day was beautiful and PRO Franny Charles completed 10 races in B and C, and 8 in A. Aidan Boni and Isi Welch NU '25 recorded the finishes and helped a number of capsized boats throughout the day, and Anna Krylova NU '25 took hundreds of photos from the photo boat.

URI holds the lead going into Sunday, with another full round robin scheduled.

Sunday, April 17:

We finished off the regatta with 8 races in A and 6 in B and C. Thank you to MIT Coach Matt Lindblad for running races today and to Ben Palmer NU '22 for recording finishes. Congrats to the BU Terriers for winning the 81st Oberg Trophy!

Score summary

1Boston UniversityTerriers506174185
2Rhode IslandRams705176197
5Boston CollegeEagles827664222
6Roger WilliamsHawks737193237
7TuftsJumbos 1839293268
8TuftsJumbos 211072113295

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.