Prosser Trophy - MAISA Open Team Race Championship


Saturday, April 8:

A light 4-6 knot Northerly and a slacking ebb current greeted sailors at Kings Point this morning. The breeze progressively shifted right over the first hour of racing, before the breeze completely shut off. Eight races were completed.

We waited for a seabreeze to fill until 1730 when the decision was made to call it for the afternoon.

Following MAISA Procedural Rules, Report Time will be pushed forward to 0830 for Sunday.

Many thanks to the great umpire team, lead by Chief Umpre Tony Weiner, and comprised of Pedro Lorson, Henry Millette, James Gilmore, Chris DeMarco, Aidan Felice and Brendan Feeney.

Sunday, April 9:

Report time was pushed early to 0830, consistent with MAISA Procedural Rules for the Prosser with the goal of completing the first round robin before the noon deadline. This was easily done by 1140, with sailors racing in a steady NNEerly breeze and progressively slacking ebb tide. Pressure was consistent starting around 6-10 kts, and peaking at 10-16 kts between 1100 and 1300.

Competitors had a brief bathroom and lunch break ashore. During this time, two hearings were held, with umpires deciding no change in scoring in both cases. Sailors headed back on the water for a 1220 harbor start, with the goal of trying to complete the 2nd round robin before the 1600 cutoff.

Racing started at a good and optimistic pace, despite the strengthening adverse current. Unfortunately the wind quickly dropped off around 1500. With 11 races left to complete at 1520 and an impending course reset, the call was made to end racing for the day.

Congratulations to Georgetown for winning the 2023 Prosser Trophy, and receiving a berth for the Open Team Race Nationals this May.

Many thanks to the umpire team, lead by Tony Weiner, for volunteering their weekend to help keep racing as fair as possible.

Final Results

1GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas6/1Mariner Fagan '24Emily Panarella '24
Mateo Di Blasi '25Diego Escobar '25
Scott Mais '23Spencer Kriegstein '25
Caro Gaston '25
Morgan Rice '25
Addi Harris '24
*2St. Mary'sSt. Mary's College of MarylandSeahawks5/2Leo Boucher '22Ellie Sekowski '23
Felix Cutler '26Katherine Shermock '24
Owen Hennessey '25Anna Flynn '25
Madison Bashaw '24
Sam Muir '22
**3PennsylvaniaUniversity of PennsylvaniaQuakers5/2Christopher Sharpless '23Caroline Dannacher '25
Samuel Gavula '24Hannah Bast '25
Jordan Bruce '24Joshua Zeelander '24
Shaanti Choi-Bose '24
4NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen4/3Cooper Walshe '25Madeline Smith '24
Nathan Smith '26Ryan Wahba '25
Gavin McJones '23Ellie Alex '26
5FordhamFordham UniversityRams3/4Kenneth Corsig '23Kristen Healy '24
Peter Lobaugh '24Bella Rabeni '24
Patrick Dolan '25Lauren Miller '23
Beckett Kumler '24
b6George WashingtonGeorge Washington UniversityBuff and Blue2/5Oscar MacGillivray '24Kaleigh Morgan '24
Jedidiah Bechtel '26Genevieve Mumma '24
Tyler Wood '26Annabelle O'Bryan '24
c7Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs2/5Noyl Odom '23Asianna Acosta '26
Andrew Ciszewski '25Diogo Silva '26
Parker Purrington '23Katherine Barton '23
Parker Younger '26
Grace Wright '26
8Hobart & WilliamHobart and William Smith CollegesStatesmen1/6Nicholas Sessions '24Frances Depke '25
Juan Carlos LaCerda Jones '26Tess Weber '23
Will Murray '24Rachel Duggan '25
Cooper Delbridge '26
Anna McBride '24
*Total points scored when tied teams met (18)
**Total points scored when tied teams met (24)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (1)
cNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)