Mustang Team Race


Saturday, February 11:

Teams arrived to a rainbow arcing over Morro Rock and chilly, dead-calm conditions, with occasional light rain. A brief postponement was called until breeze filled in from the west and allowed the race committee to sail a full round-robin in 6-12 knot conditions before a lunch break was called. Unfortunately the wind shut off after lunch and no further races were completed on Saturday.

Sunday, February 12:

Sunny conditions greeted the teams for day 2 of Mustang Team Race. After a postponement while breeze filled in, racing got underway in a 6-8 knot northwesterly breeze that allowed the race committee to set a longer course than day 1. A second round-robin was completed, after which a sail-off between Cal Poly and UCSB occurred as the last race of the day. Cal Poly sincerely thanks all of the teams competing for making the trip to Morro Bay and competing in Cal Poly's first-ever team race event hosted in Morro Bay. A huge congratulations to UCLA for going undefeated, and to UC Santa Cruz for competing in their team's first-ever team race. Many thanks to Jack Kelly, a Cal Poly alum, for serving as PRO, to John Wimer, Mark Hilden, and Jack Kisling for serving as umpires, and to Alyssa Shadduck, Colin Thompson, and Macy Rowe for serving on the committee and finish boats. We hope to see you all again for this event next year.

Final Results

1UC Los AngelesUniversity of California at Los AngelesBruins8/0Gideon Burnes Heath '23Teresa Dang '24
Grant Janov '25Nitsa Thotz '26
Marianna Shand '24Katherine Smith '24
Aidan Araoz '25
Katinka Lennemann '26
Emma Worthington '23
*2Cal PolyCal Poly University S.L.O.Mustangs5/3Kai Ponting '23Maura Darby '25
Max Case '24Mira Shupe '26
Samuel Groom '24Chloe Schofield '23
Robert Bloomfield '26
**3UC Santa BarbaraUniversity of California at Santa BarbaraGauchos5/3Daniel Erisman '25Makayla Caliendo '26
Ted McDonough '25Julia Roudebush '23
Molly Coghlin '25Joshua Pelletier '24
4UC Santa CruzUniversity of California at Santa CruzBanana Slugs2/6Blake Roberts '25Devon Baker-Berry '26
George Soliman '24Irene Abfalterer '25
Lucas Elliott '25Hunter Holguin '25
5UC San DiegoUniversity of California at San DiegoTritons0/8Gabriel Reuter '23 *Cassidy Murray '24
Audra Spokas-jaros '25Stella Potter '26
Sebastien Franck '23Cassie Halaszynski '25
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)