Graham Hall Team Race


Saturday, March 11:

The Graham Hall Team Race began with a delayed report time due to a running race that closed many streets in Annapolis Saturday morning. Teams were greeted to 20-30 knots out for the northwest and racing began in the Severn River at 1130. The wind shifted north and decreased throughout the day, but PRO Gavin O'Hare kept the course fair and fired off races all day. ChUmp Jeff Borland and his umpire team solved disputes on the water and conducted 3 hearings, all resulting in DSQs. 59 Races were completed on the day.

Sunday, March 12:

Sunday was a very different day. Teams arrived at 0900 to a glassy river. A light easterly filled in soon thereafter and racing began at 1000. Ten more round 2 races were completed before the wind died again. We tried to resume round 2 at 1300 in a light SE, but there wasn't enough time to finish the round and we abandoned and began a final 6 round. We wound up one race short of completing the final 6 in time, but we were able to use the results from the incomplete round to score a 4th place sail off round and a final 4 round robin. Congratulations to the Roger Williams Hawks for winning the 2023 Graham Hall Team Race and a huge thanks to our race committee and umpires for making the most of a challenging weekend.

Final Results

1Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks10/2Aidan Hoogland '24Hank Bailey '24
Cameron Wood '22Molly Matthews '23
Mathieu Dale '25Grace Woodcock '23
Michaela ODonnell '24
Annika Irene '23
*2NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen7/5Cooper Walshe '25Jonah Hatt '23
Jack Welburn '26Madeline Smith '24
Nathan Smith '26Colin MacGillivray '23
Gavin McJones '23Ryan Wahba '25
Ellie Alex '26
**3St. Mary'sSt. Mary's College of MarylandSeahawks7/5Leo Boucher '22Sam Muir '22
Charlie Anderson '25Ellie Sekowski '23
Felix Cutler '26Felix Cutler '26
Owen Hennessey '25Katherine Shermock '24
Henry Haddon '25
Dexter Mueller '23
4Hobart & WilliamHobart and William Smith CollegesStatesmen6/6Nicholas Sessions '24Anna McBride '24
Richard Gleason '24Rachel Duggan '25
Juan Carlos LaCerda Jones '26Cooper Delbridge '26
Tess Weber '23
Colin DuBose '25
*5George WashingtonGeorge Washington UniversityBuff and Blue5/4Oscar MacGillivray '24Henry McPherson '25
Jedidiah Bechtel '26Alexandra Lee '25
Owen Timms '23Genevieve Mumma '24
Tyler Wood '26Kaleigh Morgan '24
b6CharlestonCollege of CharlestonCougars5/4Axel Stordahl '24Lucy Klempen '24
Brandon Geller '23Noelle Owen '23
Noah Zittrer '26Aidan Iaconis '26
Anna Sherry '23
Garrett Grenauer '24
**7CornellCornell UniversityBig Red4/5Lauren Ehnot '24Sophia Fogarty '25
Sophia Devling '26Adler Weber '25
Hayden Earl '25Isabel Dhar '23
Clara Hewson '24
b8TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos4/5Ben Mueller '26Nicolas Echarte '25
Trevor Davis '24Henry Tindall '25
Patrick Mulcahy '23Celia Byrne '24
William Eykyn '25
Caroline Kelly '23
9Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs2/7Noyl Odom '23Ethan Tutt '24
Andrew Ciszewski '25Diogo Silva '26
Parker Purrington '23Parker Younger '26
Grace Wright '26
Asianna Acosta '26
10Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers1/8Tyler Mowry '23Madeline Stull '23
Noah Robitshek '25Catherine Shakin '23
Micky Munns '23Matthew Hamelsky '23
Abigail Murray '23
Chet Swanson '23
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)