SAISA Open Team Race Championships


Saturday, April 9:

8 Teams competed in a full round robin followed by a single round of 4. Breeze was a solid 10-20 throughout all the racing putting a premium on speed and boat handling. The final four consisted of Eckerd, USF, Miami and CofC. In the final race of the second round Miami put up a solid fight but gave way to a well prepared CofC squad. Mathematically Miami could have pushed for another round but realizing the importance of getting some sailing in for the Fleet Race qualifier bowed out giving CofC the victory and automatic bid from SAISA to the National Championships. Thanks to PRO Chip Till and Chief Umpire Jeff Woodard for great organization with their teams. SAISA and host CofC Sailing is incredibly grateful for their volunteer efforts.

Final Results

1CharlestonCollege of CharlestonCougars10/0Axel Stordahl '24Lucy Klempen '24
Pierce Ornstein '22Noelle Owen '23
Brandon Geller '23Anna Sherry '23
Jack Sutton '22
2U. MiamiUniversity of MiamiHurricanes8/2Aidan Dennis '25Dominic Canonico '23
Zachary Ward '25Teddy Bueres '24
Atlee Kohl '25Ashley Delisser '24
Richard McCann '23
3South FloridaUniversity of South FloridaBulls5/5Zachariah Schemel '25Lily Theisen '23
Jordan Byrd '24Jackie Morrison '23
Humberto Porrata '25Chloe Sweeting '22
4EckerdEckerd CollegeTritons4/6Sean Tallman '22Brooks Jordan '24
Eden Nykamp '25Joshua Cole '22
Griffin Richardson '25Elissa Martinez '23
*5Florida StateFlorida State UniversitySeminoles3/4Mateo Rodriguez '23Griffin Pollis '23
Joey Meagher '24Olivia Hanley '24
Katie Nelson '24Avery Harris '25
Brady Parks '25
**6JacksonvilleJacksonville UniversityFins3/4Gordon Gurnell '23Brent Penwarden '24
Matthew King '24Grace Benzal '23
Charlotte Rose '22Mary Mann '23
Emily Allen '25Lucien Parker '24
7North Carolina StateNorth Carolina State UniversityWolfpack1/6Isabella du Plessis '24Olivia Sowa '24
Scott Harris '22Sean Harris '25
Harrison Bailey '23Annika Milstien '25
Hogan O'Donnell '21
8CitadelThe CitadelBulldogs0/7Gregory Walters '24Kingsland Bland '23
Lewis Bragg '25Brooke Cheatham '23
Malcolm McAlister '23Carolyn Staples '25
Nicholas DeConto '25Madison Henning '25
*Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (0)