Woollum Team Race


Saturday, March 10:

Sailors were delighted to be met with a moderate 5-8 knot easterly on the James River, which was more breeze than was forecasted. The breeze shifted to the southeast and held steady through most of Round 1 before going light by the end of Round 1.

After a bathroom and food break sailors waited for the breeze to return from the same direction to complete the first flight of Round 2 before going to completely glass. All boats were towed in around 3:30PM where a shore postponement ensued. Looking at the forecast for tomorrow and the conditions on the river the decision was made to end racing for the day after 4:00PM.

The goal for tomorrow is to complete Round 2 and complete Round 3.

One protest was heard resulting in one DSQ.

Thank you to Benjamin Kempton, Jonathan Eaton, Mackie Conner, Ian O'Connell, Reagan Mason, Mikaela Farrugia, and Alesha Darling for their work on race committee. Thank you to Morgan Collins for hearing the protest.

Sunday, March 11:

It was cold day on the James River and sailors launched immediately in a 8-10knt Northerly. The breeze was consistent for the entire day. Round 2 was completed from yesterday and a third Round was completed.

Due to the lack of umpires several protests were filed. Thank you to Catherine Shanahan, Morgan Collins, and Andrea for hearing them.

Two protests were disallowed, and one resulted in a DSQ.

Thank you to all of the Captains for excellent race committee work.

Final Results

*1George WashingtonGeorge Washington UniversityColonials13/2Sam White '18Clare Cassidy-Gardner '21
Wade Wagner '19Marshall McCraw '20
Adam DiDomizio '19Mercedes McPhee '19
Zachary Lehan '20
Keily Gleason '19
**2Christopher NewportChristopher Newport UniversityCaptains13/2Spencer Charney '20Aerin Gilday '21
Anna Patterson '20Ian O'Connell '20
Vir Menon '20Henry Clune '21
Javier Gonzalez Rotge '21Bailey Hurst '20
Anna Patterson '20
Kaitlyn Reilly '18
*3NY MaritimeSUNY Maritime CollegePrivateers8/7Aidan Molesky '20Kyle Gelderman '21
Alexander Ellis '21Hannah Argiros '21 *
Hunter Kahler '21John Wilcenski '21
**4Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs8/7Alec Chicoine '18Makalynne Dyer '22
Brendon Wilkins '18Victoria Ewing '19
John Glenn '22Clare McCarthy '21
Colleen Baumann '21Julia Williams-Portland '21
Stephen Guglielmo '19
5Virginia TechVirginia TechHokies2/13Reid Shanabrook '22Emma Corbitt '19
Benjamin Judelson '21Gustav Berner '21
Nathan Gibson '19Natalie Lovelace '20
6William and MaryWilliam and MaryTribe1/14Connor Chapin '20Grace Holloway '21
Alexander Holderness '21Daniel Powers '18
Patrick Mazzeo '18Sophia Jefferson '21
Alba Fernandez '20Audrey Fulk '19
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)