Women's National Team Race Invitational


Saturday, April 28:

Sailors were welcomed to the very first national women's team racing invitational tournament by MIT Director of Athletics Julie Soriero. Two full round robins were sailed in nice 4-8 knot Westerly breeze which faded and became a nice Easterly seabreeze for the last flight of round 2. Tomorrow's racing will begin with a tiebreak race between MIT and USF for the last spot in the top 4 and then a double round for the top 4 and bottom 3 respectively.

Races were fully umpired by a great team of mostly former NEISA women's sailors which included Chief umpire Kelsey Wheeler, Paula Grassberger, Abby Preston, Amina Brown, Johanna Kincaid, Scott Booth, and Jeff Dusek. MIT Sailing Master Fran Charles was PRO and ran the signal boat with assistance from MIT alums and undergrads Hanna Vincent, James Pierre-Bueno, Sharon Chen, Thatcher Chamberlain, Alex Bost, and Meredith Julian. Alison Jolly served as the ICSA Rep.

Sunday, April 29:

Absolute glass kept everyone ashore until about 1245. A light SSE breeze was just barely enough to get the gold and silver rounds going. Eventually the breeze turned off again and forced a couple of races to be abandoned and re-sailed. The final flights were held in a gorgeous 12 knot west wind.

Lots of fun had by all competitors and congrats to the BU Terriers for coming from behind to win the regatta. Coach Schreyer started the swim fest and became victim soon thereafter by all of the BU sailors who wrestled him to the edge of the dock and tossed him in.

Many thanks to our very generous team of all lady umpires for giving up there weekend to help start this positive movement of a team race championship for women. Special kudos to USF for making the trip to join a tough field of New England competitors.

Franny Charles, MIT Sailing Master

Final Results

1Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers12/6Lydia Grasberger '18Meredith Harrington '18
Maia Agerup '20Caroline Salas '18
Allison Cahn '20Hannah Davis '19
*2YaleYale UniversityBulldogs11/7Christine Klingler '20Catherine Mollerus '21
Claire Huebner '18Caroline Colwell '18
Louisa Nordstrom '20Katharina (KB) Knapp '18
**3BrownBrown UniversityBears11/7Ragna Agerup '20Megha Malpani '19
Sophie Hibben '19Rachel Foster '20
Hannah Steadman '20Maxine De Havenon '19
Annabelle Hutchinson '21
4MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers9/9Emily Haig '21Brooke McGoldrick '20
Annie Hughes '19Fiona McKellar '20
Greta Farrell '18Tiffany Xi '19
Kaila Pfrang '21
Elizabeth Obermaier '21
5South FloridaUniversity of South FloridaBulls9/7Sarah Streater '18Kathryn Bornarth '21
Marina Barzaghi '21Darby Capellin '19
Delaney Brown '20Rachel Yannelli '19
6DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green8/8Emma White '19Eloise Burn '21
Audrey Giblin '20Lisa Genthner '19
Kathryn Hall '21Mary Amis '19
7TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos0/16Molly Pleskus '18Taylor Hart '19
Taylor Hart '19Molly Pleskus '18
Lindsay Powers '21Maria Brush '21
Talia Toland '22Lucy Robison '18
*Number of races won when tied teams met (3)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)