Rudkin Team Race


Saturday, March 10:

The Rudkin Team Race moved south for #springbreak. In the history of the event, its been cancelled about 50% of the time due to crazy New England weather in early March, so we were grateful to Eckerd for allowing us to run this NEISA event in St. Pete.

We started racing at 10:30 with a nice southerly breeze, but by 2:30 the breeze had faded to nothing and we called the racing for the day, seven races shy of completing the first round. The new report time on Sunday is 9:00.

Many thanks to Carrie Greene and all of the coaches for handling the umpiring and mark moving. Only one protest was heard and disallowed. Also, huge thanks to Caroline Puckette and Sophie Salomon from Eckerd College plus Hannah Konkel of Bowdoin for running the finish boat.

The Rudkin Team Race is named after Alexander K. Rudkin ('14) who was a three time captain of the team and undergrad President of NEISA.

Sunday, March 11:

Things got rolling a little earlier this morning with a 9 am report time. We kept things moving all day as the breeze shifted from the SE to the SW. I don’t believe any protests were heard today. Two round robins were completed in total.

Again HUGE thanks to Eckerd for lending us their turnkey venue for the weekend. While RWU was “running” this regatta, Coach Kevin and the Eckerd sailors did the heavy lifting.

Carrie Greene returned today to umpire along with 2006 ICSA Women’s Sailor of the Year, Alana O’Reilly. The rest of the coaches did an awesome job keeping the course square and administering on the water justice when necessary. Today, the finish boat was powered by Eckerd sailors Anna Huebschmann and Ian Willoughby. They did a fantastic job.

Final Results

1Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks13/1Martim Anderson '18Rebecca Anderson '18
Mackenzie Bryan '18Jennifer Agell '19
Conner Harding '19Michael McBrien '18
2MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers11/3Ty Ingram '18Marcus Abate '20
Trevor Long '19Sameena Shaffeeullah '19
Stephen Duncan '20Julia Cho '20
Cutter O'Connell '18
3BowdoinBowdoin CollegePolar Bears9/5William Hawk '18Marie Bergsund '20
Christian Filter '20Hannah Konkel '20
Matt Safford '20Emily Gonzalez '20
Matthew Kaplan '19Louisa Lindgren '19
*4Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers7/7Ravi Parent '18Meredith Harrington '18
Robby Gearon '19Grace Mooradian '21
Josh Dochoda '20Lexi Pline '19
Hannah Davis '19
**5EckerdEckerd CollegeTritons7/7Andrew Schoene '18Sabine Zinserling '20
Karl Rasmus Sayre '19Delphine Carroll '19
Geoffrey Nelson '18Kim Kusminsky '19
Samuel Shannon '19
6CharlestonCollege of CharlestonCougars6/8Augie Dale '19Katherine Lounsbury '20
Jack Brown '21Oliver Parsons '21
Steven Leuck '20Payton Alexander '19
Carter Cameron '19
7YaleYale UniversityBulldogs2/12Casey Klingler '18Claudia Loiacono '21
Christine Klingler '20Catherine Mollerus '21
Louisa Nordstrom '20Claire Huebner '18
8Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles1/13Isabella Loosbrock '19Emma Perry '19
Sophia Reineke '21Lily McGrath '18
Drake Lyon '18Eliza Wright '20
Scott Rasmussen '20Megan Bamford '18
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (0)