Lynne Marchiando Team Race Regatta


Saturday, March 31:

The Lynne Marchiando Trophy honors an MIT Sailor who enjoyed racing on the team and being an officer of NEISA while enrolled as a student here. Originally the event was a women's team race and migrated to a coed event in recent years. It is a fitting tribute to Lynne that so many top teams wish to race in this event annually.

Competitors worked their way through Flight 17 with 102 races today. Racing was very tight with very few play ones on the race course. Many thanks to Tony Weiner as our PRO with help from Hugh Dougherty, Carl Zimba, Dave Alfonso, and Alex Bost. Franny and Lucy Charles were tweaking buoys as an unstable northerly reluctantly gave it up to a westerly at 8-12 knots today. Sam Madden was our chief umpire with a full umpire team which we will recognize in tomorrow's summary.

Boston College stands on top of the standings with Yale, Stanford, and Harvard close behind them. The quality of competition is remarkable with many conference championships coming up next weekend.

The plan is to complete Round Robin 1 with 120 races and then split into gold and silver fleets with gold in 24 FJs and silver in 24 Fireflies.

Sunday, April 1:

West to Northwest breeze at 12-30 knots made for some very challenging competition for all sailors. After 120 races the competitors were split into top 6 and bottom 10 with gold sailing in FJs and silver sailing in Fireflies. Unfortunately the silver fleet didn't quite get to 80% of the races in their round so that round will not count. Tech score has a bug in its program so we can not accurately reflect the bottom 10 scores at this point. Hopefully this will be corrected by mid-week.

In the gold fleet one complete final round was sailed and another round had more than 80% of the races completed. Their scores all count and the top 6 finish results are accurate in tech score.

Boston College had an impressive victory against the best of the best in one of the toughest team race regattas of the season. Yale fought hard to beat out Harvard and Bowdoin who were tied right behind them.

Tony Weiner did an exemplary job of running 180 races this weekend and Liz Obermeier from MIT was key in accurately keeping the scores updated and tracked properly as boats were substituted and the races just kept coming at the finish boat. Sam Madden's umpire group were on top of all the races and no protests came off the water during the entire weekend. All competitors had a grueling weekend of stellar competition and are well prepared for conference championships which begin next weekend.

Final Results

1Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles19/5Wade Waddell '19Katharine Bowman '20
Sophia Reineke '21Alice Bohan '18
Charles Sinks '18Emma Perry '19
Lily McGrath '18
Tara Ferraris '19
Peter Lynn '19
2YaleYale UniversityBulldogs18/6Shawn Harvey '22Katharina (KB) Knapp '18
Malcolm Lamphere '18Sonia Lingos-Utley '22
Nicolas Hernandez '19Kira Woods '19
*3BowdoinBowdoin CollegePolar Bears14/10William Hawk '18Emily Gonzalez '20
Matt Safford '20Hannah Konkel '20
Matthew Kaplan '19Nora Cullen '18
Christian Filter '20Louisa Lindgren '19
Marie Bergsund '20
Jake Griffin '18
**4HarvardHarvard UniversityCrimson14/10Nick Sertl '18Christine Gosioco '19
Nick DiGiovanni '19Kirstin Anderson '18
Eli Burnes '22Zennie Wey '20
Henry Burnes '22Catherine Tang '19
Taylor Ladd '18Taylor Ladd '18
Kevin Coakley '18
Henry Burnes '22
5MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers13/11Cutter O'Connell '18Julia Cho '20
Ty Ingram '18John Ped '21
Trevor Long '19Sameena Shaffeeullah '19
Greta Farrell '18
Stephen Duncan '20
Joseph Mastrandrea '21
6Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks11/13Mackenzie Bryan '18Jennifer Agell '19
Martim Anderson '18Dane Pedersen '19
Spencer Cartwright '22Rebecca Anderson '18
Michael McBrien '18
b7BrownBrown UniversityBears8/7Patrick Shanahan '19Julia Kim '18
Sam Alexander '18Emily Ito '19
Lindsey Baab '18Abigayle Konys '19
Quinn Andersen '18Sawyer Balint '20
Julia Reynolds '22
c8CharlestonCollege of CharlestonCougars8/7Augie Dale '19Katherine Lounsbury '20
Christophe Killian '18Elizabeth Pemberton '18
Stefano Peschiera '18Grace McCarthy '18
d9StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal8/7Jacob Rosenberg '20Kathryn Booker '19
Will La Dow '18Elena VandenBerg '18
William Marshall '19Taylor Kirkpatrick '20
Cassie Obel '19
e10DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green8/7Christopher Williford '19Rebecca McElvain '19
Erik Weis '18Eloise Burn '21
Duncan Williford '18Paige Clarke '20
Audrey Giblin '20Sophia Diserio '18
**11Hobart & WilliamHobart and William Smith CollegesStatesmen8/7Greiner Hobbs '18Haley Okun '18
Charles Miller '19Lindsey Kloc '19
Hector Guzman '20Maya Weber '20
Noah Barrengos Barrengos '18
*12Connecticut CollegeConnecticut CollegeCamels3/12Hugh MacGillivray '18Elizabeth Davis '21
Walter Florio '18Gwynie Dunlevy '20
Carter Pemberton '20Albert Rodiger '18
Erin Smith '19
Cecilia Moreira '20
**13Coast GuardU. S. Coast Guard AcademyBears3/12Mack Fox '20Christina Nothacker '21
Austin Lettengarver '19Maddie Ekin '20
Shane Riera '21Brian Nelson '21
f14South FloridaUniversity of South FloridaBulls3/12Sean Cornell '18Rachel Daye '18
Brendan Feeney '18Darby Capellin '19
Michael Sanandajian '18Mandi Dickie '18
15TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos1/14Florian Eenkema Van Dijk '19Emily Shanley-Roberts '18
Jack Bitney '19Lara Dienemann '18
Cameron Holley '19Ian Morgan '19
Christopher Keller '19Michelle Chisdak '18
Lindsay Powers '21
16Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers0/15Robby Gearon '19Lexi Pline '19
Josh Dochoda '20Hannah Davis '19
Ravi Parent '18Grace Mooradian '21
Sam Morrell '21Erica Brown '21
Michael Sabourin '20Carly Berry '21
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (3)
cTotal points scored when tied teams met (17)
dTotal points scored when tied teams met (20)
eTotal points scored when tied teams met (26)
fNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)