Capt. Prosser Trophy - MAISA TR Championship


Saturday, April 7:

The Captain Prosser Trophy serves as the MAISA Team Race Conference Championship and National Championship Qualifier. The top 4 teams from the Prosser will represent MAISA at Nationals.

Sailors arrived to a northerly breeze around 12-15kts and racing immediately got underway as scheduled. It was chilly with temps around 30 degrees. Cayuga Lake delivered beautiful sailing conditions all day long, and we were able to complete two full round robins and part of round 3. The Cornell Sailors and Coach Thompson did an amazing job on the water keeping the course square and racing moving consistently.

Thank you to our umpire team led by CHUMP Rob Overton, Doc Sullivan, Alex Woloshyn, Sam Blouin, Dalton Brauer, Claire Riedman, Will Holz, Matt Schofield, Daniel Birmingham, AJ Reiter, and Sam Webster.

19 races to go tomorrow to finish the event and a fairly decent forecast to go with it. Georgetown leads the way heading into Sunday.

Sunday, April 8:

Epic day on Cayuga Lake! We started off with a short wind delay waiting for the forecasted northerly to fill. It started to fill around 9:30am and we made a harbor start for 10am with a first start 10:15am. To start Sunday 4 teams were in play for the final berth to the LaserPerformance College Sailing Team Race National Championship, (4th) Cornell, (5th) St. Mary's, (6th) Navy, and (7th) ODU. It would come down to the final race...

Cornell started slow losing it's first 3 races of the day to Navy, Georgetown, & ODU. St. Mary's started hot and put themselves in the driver seat. Race 78 was looming, Cornell vs. St. Mary's and everyone on shore knew it had major implications on the final result. Cornell was beat badly off the line but managed to pull out the race win moving to 3-0 against St. Mary's for the regatta. Cornell was back in the 4th place position but after St. Mary's beat Maritime, Cornell needed to beat GW in race 83 to solidify their berth. Again Cornell trailed off the line but battled back to win and take the final berth. Meanwhile, Georgetown Hoyas sailed better than the rest and cruised to the overall victory with a 19-2 record. The final two races finished with gusts up to 20kts and blinding snow whisking across the course. An unexpected snow squall rolled through and finished the day in exciting fashion.

The top 4 teams move on to Team Race Nationals, Georgetown, George Washington (1st in program history), Hobart & W/S, and Cornell (1st in program history). Congratulations!

Huge thank you to the Cornell team and Coach Dan Thompson for running a fantastic regatta finishing all three rounds between teams. The winds were north throughout the weekend and fairly steady making for excellent racing conditions.

The umpire team of 11 was great throughout the weekend, thank you for making the trip to Ithaca.

Final Results

1GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas19/2Roger Dorr '18Rebecca Fung '19
Sean Segerblom '20Marley Mais '21
William Logue '20Meaghan MacRae '18
Rose Edwards '18
Caroline Teare '21
*2George WashingtonGeorge Washington UniversityColonials15/6Kai Friesecke '18Tanner Chapko '21
Derek Poon Tip '19Miranda Bakos '18
Andrew Sheerin '19Shira Golub '18
Isabel Strachan '18
Matthew Homa '18
Connor West '19
**3Hobart & WilliamHobart and William Smith CollegesStatesmen15/6Greiner Hobbs '18Haley Okun '18
Charles Miller '19Christopher Manson-Hing '19
Hector Guzman '20Lindsey Kloc '19
Maya Weber '20
Kyle Easton '20
Russell Merchant '19
b4CornellCornell UniversityBig Red9/12Clark Uhl '19Diana Otis '19
Connor Kelter '18Tara Bergstrom '18
Thomas Balk '18Kimberly Wong '19
Adeline Sutton '21
c5St. Mary'sSt. Mary's College of MarylandSeahawks9/12Edmund Cooper '17Lydia McPherson-Shambarger '19
Liam McCarthy '19Kaisey McCallion '19
Bradley Adam '17Kate Bjerregaard '19
Thomas Walker '21
6Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs8/13Jeremy Herrin '18Carter Little '18
Jack Elkin '19Bridget Groble '21
James Jacob '18Emily Harrison '21
Dreugh Phillips '20Gavin Burkhart '20
Stephen Guglielmo '19
7NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen6.50/14Peter Hogan '18Kelly Milliken '21
Parker Loftus '20Kent Mathes '20
Jimmy Madigan '18Emma Remis '20
Maxwell Brill '20Sarah Barkley '19
Gary Prieto '18
8NY MaritimeSUNY Maritime CollegePrivateers2/19Zachary Hill '18Timothy Montera '18
John Lawless '19Aidan Molesky '20
Hunter Kahler '21Brian Buckley '21
Kyle Comerford '19
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (3)
cNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)