Hawkeye Invitational


Saturday, March 28:

Hawkeye Invite March 28th - 29th, 2015 Regatta Summary

The University of Iowa Sailing Club was ecstatic to have hosted Indiana University, Michigan State, University of Michigan, UW Milwaukee, Washington University, and Iowa State at our recent spring regatta. The Race Site was located on the North Arm of Lake MacBride, where sailors and friends were invited to observe from Sail Boat Shelter #1. Although the weather was bit on the cold side, the sailors came out and had a good time!

Saturday, was an adventurous day of sailing for even the best of sailors. With an average wind speed of 16 mph from the SSW and up to 21 mph puffs from the SSE, the sailors had to give their best, both up and down the race course, to compete for first place. The course was a Windward Leeward course, where the start line acted as an open gate and the marks had to be rounded such that the buoys were left on the port side. While some boats did capsize, those lucky sailors got to take a polar plunge into the rather fresh water. But, with everyone wearing drysuits, blankets and layers going around for everyone, and clear skies letting the sun grace us with its presence, it felt warmer than the max 43F (avg 31F) such that teams and visitors were able to comfortably enjoy observing a total of 12 races, A and B, throughout the day. By the end of it, Indiana was in the lead overall with 33 points, UW Milwaukee was in second by a mere point with 34 points, Michigan State in third with 41 points, Washington University and the University of Michigan sharing fourth place with 45 points, University of Iowa in fifth place with 66 points, and Iowa State in sixth with 73 points.

Sunday, March 29:

Although Sunday was warmer, with a high of 61F (avg 46F), the winds were cranked up a notch. There was an average of 19 mph winds coming from the SW and a slight sprinkle fading in and out throughout the day. After a while of postponement, A and B fleet were sent out for a total of four races. Unfortunately, due to the increased winds, Iowa State headed home before the races. The races went smoothly and the teams waited patiently for the scores to be released. The Protest Committee looked over a protest in A fleet’s eighth race. After careful deliberation, the Protest Committee announced that Indiana was in the wrong and disqualified from the eighth race. It was a learning experience for both teams involved and questions were asked as to how to avoid a similar occurrence in the future. Awards were given as follows, overall first place went to UW Milwaukee, second place to Indiana University, and third place was shared by Michigan State University and the University of Michigan; first place in A fleet went to Washington University; and first place in B fleet went to UW Milwaukee. The rest of the results can be found on Techscore.

Type of boats: FJ Protest Committee: Bill Budelier*, Steve Callaway, and Eric Sauter Race Committee: Maximilian Franze-Soeln Scoring Committee: Molly Streiker

Score summary

1UW MilwaukeePanthers321244
*4Michigan StateSpartans243559
5Washington UBears184361
7Iowa StateCyclones5154105
*Number of high-place (1) finishes

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.