Big Ten Team Race


Saturday, April 11:

5 teams arrived at Base Line Lake to ideal team racing conditions. A moderate westerly breeze built throughout the day giving the sailors a wide range of conditions to race in. Nearly 2 complete round robins were sailed in the Michigan's aging 420s. While the races were sailed, Michigan sailors were rigging their brand new fleet of Zim FJ's which will hopefully be used for the first time tomorrow. A big thanks to Matt Graham and Ryan Seago for serving as Umpires and all the Michigan sailors for helping run the event. The plan is to finish round robin 2 and complete round robin 3 on Sunday.

Sunday, April 12:

Team arrived to a light, patchy thermal on Base Line Lake so sailors stayed on shore to wait for the breeze to fill. A course was finally set around 10:15 and races were soon to follow. The sailors were fortunate to avoid the typical early April weather and get to race in very pleasant conditions. Congratulations to the University of Michigan for winning the 2015 Big Ten Team Race! Northwestern and UW-Milwaukee rounded out the top three. Another big thanks to our umpires Matt Graham and Ryan Seago, and all the U of M sailors for helping out all weekend.

Final Results

1MichiganUniversity of MichiganWolverines10/0Alex Brown '18 *Michael Gapuz '18
Thomas Etheridge '16Emily Gazall '16
Lane Tobin '18Alison Bradley '16
Mason Wolters '18Sarah Sloan '16
Christopher Cyr '16Lane Tobin '18
Alex Ramos '15
2NorthwesternNorthwestern UniversityWildcats8/2Robert Johnston '15Allison Park '17
Noah Rosenthal '18Jacob Bruce '16
Jacob Bruce '16Noah Rosenthal '18
Travis Cottle '15Michael Pauleen '18
Michael Pauleen '18Travis Cottle '15
3UW MilwaukeeUniversity of Wisconsin MilwaukeePanthers4/6Isak Peterson '15Hannah Girard '18
Andre Deriaz '18Brittni Begale '16
Hannah Noll '15Cole Meller '17
Cole Meller '17Hannah Noll '15
4MarquetteMarquette UniversityGolden Eagles3/7Ryan Clulo '18Andi Regalbuto '17
Mason Chrabaszcz '18Robert Michielutti '18
Jack Lakowske '18Catherine Strietmann '18
Alexander Duffy '19
5Notre DameUniversity of Notre DameFighting Irish0/10Bryan Enriquez '15Alessandro DiSanto '15
Bryan Enriquez '15Lissa Stachnik '16
Matt Reilly '18Martha Murphy '18
Mae Raab '18Patrick Penny '18
Patrick Penny '18Matt Reilly '18
Martha Murphy '18Mae Raab '18