Ike Geiger Team Race Trophy


Saturday, March 15:

Fantastic sailing conditions with a SW-NW breeze at 8-20knots allowed the participants to finish the regatta in a day. Sundays forecast with stronger breeze and a high temp of 32 under cloudy skies was a great incentive to stay late and finish. Two round robins were completed and then the fleet was split into top 4 and bottom 3 teams for a final sail offs for a total of 51 races. Boston College was a no show. The Jumbos rallied to win the event on a tie breaker with Bowdoin followed by MIT and Roger Williams in the Gold Fleet.

Many thanks to Johnny Norfleet, Matt Lindblad, Frank Pizzo for hearing protests. MIT undergrads Hanna Vincent; Libby Zhang; Jamila Dell-Smith; Joryln LeGarrec; Will Livernois; and Sophie Goemans handled finishing and scoring duties expertly. Franny Charles was the PRO and ably assisted by Wally Corwin.

Sunday, March 16:

Regatta finished on Saturday

Final Results

*1TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos10/5Charles Proctor '14Elizabeth Keys '14
Dan Nickerson '15Jamie Maffeo '15
Duncan Swain '15Julie Pringle '14
Ben Weigel '14
**2BowdoinBowdoin CollegePolar Bears10/5Peter Edmunds '14Mary Paz '17
Michael Croteau '15Julia Rew '16
Jack McGuire '17Jackson Bloch '15
Tom Peabody '14
*3MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers9/6David Alfonso '14Iris Xu '14
Alexander Stewart '17Paige Omura '17
Joseph Paggi '16Jordan Ladd '17
David Larson '16Christopher Ford '16
**3Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks9/6Stewart Draheim '16Sara Swanson '16
Connor Needham '14Samantha Bobo '15
J. Jacob '16Tatiana Chiu '17
5DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green8/6Ian Storck '15Madeleine Cooney '17
Christopher Price '14Sophie Kerr '17
Charles Lalumiere '17Mia Steck '17
Robert Floyd '17
6Rhode IslandUniversity of Rhode IslandRams5/9Matthew Coughlin '16Kaitlin Cornwall '16
Samuel Morley '14Elizabeth Durgin '16
Patrick Penwell '16Matthew Sola '15
7NortheasternNortheastern UniversityHuskies0/14Zach Shapiro '15Claire Lockard '18
Victoria McGruer '17Elizabeth Sczerzenie '15
John Hubbard '14Emily Browning '16
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)