PCCSC/Patagonia Team Race Champs


Friday, April 5:

Team arrived to gloomy skies and intermittent drizzle. After a short competitors meeting everyone finished rigging and headed out to the race course. The breeze had already filled in from the southwest so racing started right away. Around noon the grey skies stated to clear up and the breeze clocked to the west and continued to build.

After completing the initial round robin the fleet headed to the dock for a short break while scores were resolved and the Championship/Consolation fleet breaks were established. The championship teams picked their boats based on their standings after the first round (Stanford, Hawaii, UC Irvine, UC San Diego) and the group headed back out to start the Championship/Consolation Rounds.

At the end of the day Stanford ended up undefeated and advances on to the ICSA / APS Team Race Nationals in St. Petersburg, FL at the end of May. Congratulations Cardinals and Bows on a great regatta!

A team race does not happen without a small army of volunteers and this one was no exception. John Fretwell, Nick Kaschak and the SDYC Jr. Program provided the CFJ's and Race Committee boats. Brian Stanford, Bryan McDonald (Dude1), Nick Kaschak and Danielle Richards umpired. John Vandemoer (STAN), Andy Johnson (UH), and Brad Schaupeter (UCSB) took turns blowing whistles on the RC Signal boat and the UCSD undergrads who manned the finish boat.

Lastly, thank you to Patagonia for providing our trophies and sponsoring the event!

Final Results

1StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal10/0Kevin Laube '14Carolyn Ortel '14
Mateo Vargas '14Tally Buckstaff '14
Oliver Toole '14Haley Kirk '15
2HawaiiUniversity of HawaiiRainbows7/3Adam Pokras '14Kellie Yamada '16
Mitchell Icard '13Ana-Melissa Kea '13
Madeline Kennedy '14Lindsay Stewart '13
*3UC San DiegoUniversity of California at San DiegoTritons5/5John Olson '14Danielle Sams '16
Nicolas Delfino '16Caitlin Riley '15
Matthew Morris '16Jonathan Schafgans '13
Charlie Davidson '13
*4UC IrvineUniversity of California at IrvineAnteaters5/5Brian Hoover '12Kate Andersen '15
Samuel Heller '15Ashley Hobson '13
Nicholas Weis '15William Larsen '13
5UC Santa BarbaraUniversity of California at Santa BarbaraGauchos6/4Ian Stokes '16Natalie Davidson '16
Ginger Luckey '16Grant Rickon '16
Cobi Allen '16Preston Beye '14
6Cal MaritimeCalifornia Maritime AcademyKeelhaulers4/6Matthew Van Rensselaer '13Eileen Welch '15
Chris Vilicich '16Stephen Katz '16
Seamus Dougherty '16Ryan Orphan '16
7CSU Long BeachCalifornia State University Long Beach49ers3/7Shane Young '14Foya Lazare '14
John Hill '13Anna Rubino '16
Mark Ryan '15Nicholas Santos '15
8University of Southern CaliforniaTrojans0/10Cameron Hutcheson '14Hollis Barth '16
Kendall Sanson '15Brandon Yuen '14
John Coakley '16Olivia Gebelein '15
Brandon Yuen '14Nicole Bosetti '15
Sanket Chauhan '15
*Sail off