PCCSC Coed Dinghy Championship


Saturday, April 9:

Sailors were greeted to a chilly Southern California morning with remnants of last nights hail storm still on the ground. After a brief continental breakfast and skippers meeting at the sailing center the fleet migrated out to the Belmont Pier to set up camp and start the races. The breeze filled in right on time and after a 15 minute postponement to let it stabilize the college fleet started. Cold winds in the 10-14kts range kept the racing running smoothly all day. On the water Judge Bill Campbell (Naval Academy grad) was on hand to administer swift justice.

8a races and 6b races were completed before the winds started to taper off at 6pm and the fleet headed back to the sailing center for burgers and hot dogs to warm up.

UCSB's A division skipper was awarded redress for avg points of his races on Saturday (equally 4 points) for a jib malfunction

Sunday, April 10:

It started out as a slightly warmer morning (no hail or ice on the cars) but if you ask the Hawaii Team is still wasn’t warm enough. The B Division headed out first to finish off races 8 & 9b. Winds were slightly less than they were on Saturday, ranging from 8-12kts and the Long Beach break wall made for flat water sailing. Stanford had first place locked up by the start on Sunday’s races so UCSB, UCLA, USC, UH and UCI were in a five way fight for the last three Semi Final’s berths with the positions changing after each set. By the last race it was down to USC and UCI for the last berth with USC pulling it off in the end.

Congratulations to Stanford University for winning the 2011 PCCSC Coed Dinghy Conference Championship, UCLA’s Judge Ryan and Erica Parker for winning the Newport Harbor Chamber of Commerce Trophy for the winner of the A Division and Kevin Laube and Carolyn Ortel from Stanford for winning the Nick Scandone Memorial Trophy for the winner of the B Division.

Stanford University, UC Santa Barbara, UC Los Angeles and the University of Southern California qualify for the 2011 ICSA Coed Dinghy National Championship Semi Finals to be hosted by USC and the US Sailing Center over the weekend of April 30-May 1st. Please follow the action at http://www.uscsailing.org/SemiFinals/

Score summary

2UC Santa BarbaraGauchos5353106
3UC Los AngelesBruins3376109
4Southern CalTrojans6857125
5Cal MaritimeKeelhaulers3492126
6UC IrvineAnteaters7453127
8Santa ClaraSanta Clara9477171
10UC San DiegoUC San Diego109115224
11Cal PolyMustang114111225

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.