PCCSC Match Race Championship


Saturday, October 5:

Racing was delayed until just after noon due to lack of wind. Once the breeze did fill, it remained for the rest of the day and allowed for two round robins to be completed. All races were sailed in a light and shifty northwesterly that ranged from 3-8 knots. There were just a few breakdowns, mostly causing only minor delays.

Many thanks to our awesome umpire crew who helped get the event organized during the week prior and kept racing fair throughout the day. Chief Umpire was Bryan McDonald along with John Christman, Greg Meagher, and Mike Gross. Thank you as well to Erin Sprague from Cal Maritime and Jesse Andrews from Hawaii for helping to move marks and assisting with the rotation. Laurel Foster (Stanford '22) also volunteered her day to help with regatta management.

Congratulations to the Stanford Cardinal for going undefeated to win the 2019 PCCSC Match Race Championship. They will represent our conference at the Nationals in November.

Final Results

1StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal8/0Jack Parkin '21Wiley Rogers '22
Victoria Thompson '21
2HawaiiUniversity of HawaiiRainbows5/3Owen Lahr '23Devon Stapleton '22
Patrick Wilkinson '20
3UC Santa BarbaraUniversity of California at Santa BarbaraGauchos4/4Sidney Gathrid '22Matt Long '20
Catherine Reynolds '22
4Cal PolyCal Poly University S.L.O.Mustangs2/6Liam Hood '20Kai Ponting '22
Alyson Crowley '20
5Cal MaritimeCalifornia Maritime AcademyKeelhaulers1/7Storm Brown '20Emi Stephanoff '21
Brock Paquin '22