Laser North


Saturday, September 10:

14 competitors were greeted by un-forecasted NE-ly winds of 4-9kts. in the morning of the regatta. The RC managed three races in the fickle Northerly and had to abandon the 4th race as the building Southerly battled against the dying Northerly.

After a lunch break to allow the breeze to settle in, the sailors raced in a very nice sea breeze of 8-12 kts.

A total of 8 races were completed. 6 races remain on the schedule for tomorrow.

Thanks to the USMMA midshipmen and PRO, Rick Dominique for the RC work in tough conditions.

Sunday, September 11:

The 14 competitors completed 4 races in a building Northwesterly that veered to the North before the first race started. The wind direction settled in and steadily built to 18 - 20 kts. with gusts to 26kts. by race 12. PRO Rick Dominique decided to call it a day at this point with the gusts peaking at over 25 knots, and all positions for qualifying and first place locked. Competitors and coaches were all in agreement.

In a display of sportsmanship, all the competitors and coaches gathered while the results were read and the qualifiers were announced. The competitors all congratulated the qualifiers before leaving: 1st-John Ruitenberg, Queens U; 2nd-Forrester Wachholz, Queens U; 3rd-Cooper Siepert, USMMA-Kings Point; 4th-Daniel Birmingham, Cornell; 5th-Connor Swikart, Hobart/William Smith; 6th-Will Jones, Queens U.

Thanks to Andrea Watson, USMMA Waterfront PR contractor for taking many photos that will be available to competitors from her website:

Thanks also to PRO, Rick Dominique and the USMMA midshipman performing RC duties: Spencer Ragsdale '19, Sarah Hilditch '20, Gemma Nyguen '20, Lexus Biehl '20.

Score summary

1Queen'sJohn Ruitenberg '192222
2Queen'sBrendan Aulthouse '174343
3Kings PointCooper Siepert '205353
4CornellDaniel Birmingham '175555
5Hobart & William SmConnor Swikart '186565
6Queen'sWill Jones '176969
7Kings PointRyan Wood '179595
8Kings PointDevin Keister '189797
9NY MaritimeJuan Lejarraga '19102102
10NY MaritimeArthur Libby '17111111
11Hobart & William SmNoah Barrengos Barrengos '18118118
12Hobart & William SmIan Beckley '20123123
13Hobart & William SmPhilip Davis '20139139
14Webb InstituteMax Pierce '20172172

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.