MCSA Open Team Race Qualifier


Friday, April 5:

It was a breezy and cold day on Lake St. Clair to start out the MCSA Open Championship series. After some course adjustment in response to a substantial left shift, racing started in 15 - 20kn with a peak of 28kn from the NNW. PRO Scott Corder and the rest of the race committee team continued to crank out races as the day went on, completing 27 races before going out for Race 9, which was pushed off due to breakdowns. Following the Round Robin, University of Wisconsin Badgers lead the way with an unbeaten 7-0 record, closely followed by Notre Dame. Wisconsin, Notre Dame, Michigan, and Purdue then competed in a Final Four to round out the series. An impressive display from the Wolverines saw them win all three of their races, but it wasn't enough to catch the Badgers who won their other two races to take the title. A massive thank-you to GPYC and Christina Noland for hosting a wonderful regatta and allowing the use of their brand new E420s. Additional thanks to Scott and Lisa Corder, along with umpires Mike Kaspar, John Walton, Geoff Pedrick, Caroline Bielski, George Dorsch, Sandi Svoboda. We're looking forward to more great racing out on Lake St. Clair as we begin fleet racing tomorrow!

Saturday, April 6:

All racing completed on Saturday.

Final Results

1WisconsinUniversity of WisconsinBadgers9/1Gavin Dempsey '26Ellie Murphy '24
Marley Barrett '27Carter Harms '27
Mary Castellini '25Carmen Lineer '26
*2MichiganUniversity of MichiganWolverines7/3Joe Serpa '24Asha Baddi '24
Brody Schwartz '24Bryson DenUyl '24
Braden Vogel '27Alden Gort '26
Alexander Manthous '24
**3Notre DameUniversity of Notre DameFighting Irish7/3Joseph Thuente '24Aidan Kiergan '27
Joseph Gallagher '24Jack O'Connor '26
Timothy Hesse '27Carmela D’Antuono '24
John Szymanski '25
4PurduePurdue UniversityBoilermakers4/6Odey Hariri '24Nok In Chan '24
Justin Skene '24Connor Chung '26
Sam Childers '27Zachary Gold '24
William Bernhardt '25
b5Saint ThomasUniversity of Saint ThomasTommies3/4Rachel Bartel '24Meriah Kirschstein '24
Greg Bittle '25Lily Lupardus '27
Rakesh Dhiman '26Soren Gabor '26
c6NorthwesternNorthwestern UniversityWildcats3/4Jake Weinstein '27Cora Star '26
Nicholas Chesemore '27Herbert Single '27
Grace Bray '27Maddie Fitzgerald '26
Cole Abbott '26
7Michigan TechMichigan Technological UniversityHusky One1/6Andrew Michels '25Katherine Sorbie '27
Nick Myneni '26Cecilia Dietsch '26
Lucas Rodenroth '27Hannah Monville '27
8IndianaIndiana UniversityHoosiers0/7Nithya Balachander '25Angus Gilbreath '27
Bryce Lesinski '27Sammy Stoeber '24
Daniel de la Vega III '25Delaynie Grove '24
*Total points scored when tied teams met (18)
**Total points scored when tied teams met (24)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (1)
cNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)