Mystic Lake TR


Saturday, April 9:

Unstable air masses consumed team racers on Upper Mystic Lake as winds varied from SE to NW at 1-20 knots. Wind began as a dam breeze and looked great, South at 10. Then it went left and left to SE with many mark changes. Showers appeared both on radar and on the horizon. This began a series of chunk shifts to the right to SW (many more mark changes) and a postponement for a weather show of roll clouds, lightning, thunder, hail, and big downdrafts. Right after we hit the water and of course the wind goes NW and dies to one knot. The moment it came back to three knots we resumed, then the wind went left and increased. Finally the sky cleared, subsequent rain cells dried up upon approach and we got in 36 races of 45 planned.

For tomorrow we plan one re-sail for a broken jib sheet, then the remaining nine in round one. Round two is still open to possibility but the most likely format is a six-race round robin among the bottom four followed by a 15-race round robin among the top six.

Three protests were heard by Dartmouth coach John Pierce and Tufts coach Ken Legler resulting in two disallowed and one with both boats getting a DSQ; one for violating rule 17 and the other for violating rule 10.

Huge thanks for our freshmen race committee Marina Garrido, Harry Prager, and Nic Echarte who rotated scoring, finish boat, and pit crew. PRO Ken Legler

Sunday, April 10:

Much easier day today with one re-sail race from Saturday, nine races to complete round one, six races for the consolation fleet, and 15 races for the top six teams. Wind averaged WNW at ten knots with a range of 40 degrees with velocity ranging from 5-20. Fantastic spectating was afforded from the observation deck overlooking the starting line.

Great team racing action throughout. There were several protests, come disallowed, some resulting in DSQ. One request for breakdown or a batten was disallowed since it had little effect on the race. Huge thanks to Sundays undergrad helpers; Connor Sheridan, Harper McKerrow and Nic Echarte, all rotating between finish boat, scoring, and pit crew.

Congrats to the Tufts Jumbos for winning the 2022 Mystic Lake Team Racing Invitational.

Final Results

1TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos12/2Bryan Trammell '23Leo Terry '25
John Eastman '25Maisie MacGillivray '25
Jack Flores '25Naomi Pedersen '25
2Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks10/4Mathieu Dale '25Annika Irene '23
Grant Gridley '22Ethan Snyder '25
William Bailey '24Ian Coen '24
3DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green9/5Nicholas Hurley '23Madeleine Sharp '22
Oliver Hurwitz '25Maya Nguyen '24
Griffin Lapham '25Faye Benjamin '25
4Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers8/6Micky Munns '23Matthew Hamelsky '23
Noah Robitshek '25Abigail Murray '23
Elliott Mendenhall '25Lachlan Hooper '25
5BrownBrown UniversityBears7/7William George '23Jacqueline Rice '24
Jed Bell '23Helen Horangic '25
Thomas Styron '24Janelle Li '25
Connor Macken '24Olivia MILLER '25
Catherine Morrissette '24
6NortheasternNortheastern UniversityHuskies5/9Everett Nash '24Reid Wishner '24
Joshua Dillon '25Rob Brower '23
Will Priebe '24Jack Denker '22
7Salve ReginaSalve Regina UniversitySeahawks5/7Alex Bowdler '22Frances Donahoe '24
Nils Tullberg '23Caroline McNeil '22
Emil Tullberg '25Hannah Mailey '25
8TuftsTufts UniversityJumbalaya5/7Connor Sheridan '22Rachel Bonanno '25
Shea Smith '25Lucy Belknap '25
Connor Rosow '24Magdelaina Putnam '25
Adrien Bellanger '25Matthew Caplan '25
9Rhode IslandUniversity of Rhode IslandRams3/9Zachary Champney '22Kevin Stamp '22
Meghan Haviland '22Jack Honan '23
Miles Williams '24Emilia Marino '22
10Connecticut CollegeConnecticut CollegeCamels2/10Wade Anthony '24Alejandro Amezcua '25
Andrew Powers '24Abigail Lenox '23
Charles Bresnahan '23Ruth Reischmann '23
Ryan Mckinney '23Renee Smith '24