Carter Ford PCCSC Team Race Championship


Saturday, April 6:

UCSB hosted their first Team Race Champs in the past decade. The event is quite an undertaking and a huge thank you goes out to the Umpires led by Chief Ump, John Christman. We had several young alumni come out (Sam White, Stephen Long, Simone Staff, Ian Stokes, and Chris Weis) in addition to veteran umpires, Mike Gross, and Vicki Sodaro.

Seven teams attended the Carter Ford PCCSC Team Race Championship this year and after a slow start the teams hit the water. The wind slowly built from the southeast, increasing and shifting to the west with a max wind velocity of about 15-16 knots. 38 races were completed which was all of the first round robin and most of the second, before the wind shut off completely.

On Sunday, the second round robin will be finished and the final four will be sailed. Top two qualify for the National Championship.

Sunday, April 7:

The second day of the Carter Ford PCCSC Team Race Championship was a bit of a struggle as breeze went. Puffs would roll through with enough pressure to set a course and begin a sequence only to die by the time the start went off. Racing was held for quite some time. Eventually races were able to be completed and a consistent breeze blew through for the beginning of the final four. The last two races of the final four were relatively inconsequential to the results and were sailed in somewhat less than desirable conditions. The breeze never fully materialized for the remainder of the day.

Stanford went undefeated, claiming the Carter Ford PCCSC Team Race Championship. Cal Maritime and UCSB were in a close battle for second with Cal Maritime ultimately sailing better when it counted. UCSB finished third. University of Hawaii rounded out the final four, though all teams were in contention for the fourth spot up until the last race of the second round robin. Thank you to all of the teams that attended as well as our PRO's - Grant Rickon (UCSB Alumni 2016) & Roger O'Connor (USC Coach), our ICSA Representative - Andy Johnson (UH Coach), and our umpires - John Christman (Chief Ump), Mike Gross, Sam White (George Washington Alumni), Vicki Sodaro, Stephen Long (UCSB alumni 2017), Chris Weis (UCSB Alumni 2018), Simone Staff (UCSB Alumni 2018), and Ian Stokes (UCSB Alumni 2016).

Final Results

1StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal15/0Jacob Rosenberg '20Kathryn Booker '19
Jack Parkin '21Taylor Kirkpatrick '20
Telis Athanasopoulos Yogo '22Meg Gerli '19
Romain Screve '21Sammy Pickell '22
2Cal MaritimeCalifornia Maritime AcademyKeelhaulers11/4Johannes McElvain '18Hailey Thompson '22
Benjamin Rohr '19Emi Stephanoff '21
Brock Paquin '22matthew Thomas '21
3UC Santa BarbaraUniversity of California at Santa BarbaraGauchos10/5David Eastwood '22Claire Hunt '19
Sampson Reynolds '21Samantha Obel '21
Lucas Pierce '21Tristan Richmond '22
Quinn Wilson '21Elizabeth Moody '20
Sampson Reynolds '21
4HawaiiUniversity of HawaiiRainbows4/11Mathew Butler '19Annika Garrett '19
Michael Pacholski '19Sophie Deming '20
Patrick Wilkinson '20Devon Stapleton '22
Cantlen Forni '19
Danielle Ahir '20
*5Cal PolyCal Poly University S.L.O.Mustangs3/9Ben Brough '19Shea Walker '20
Alyson Crowley '20Helen Payne '19
Josselyn Verutti '21Alyson Crowley '20
Liam Hood '20Peyton Nienaber '22
**6BerkeleyUniversity of California at BerkeleyBears3/9Ciara Dorsay '21Megan Grosspietsch '20
Elizabeth Hansen '19Mackenzie Berwick '22
Drake Hayes '21Paris Sato '21
7Southern CalUniversity of Southern CaliforniaTrojans2/10Sarah Alexander '19Sabrina Moreno '19
Will Paulsen '19Rachel Leipold '22
Nicholas Stefanoni '21Kai Otsmaa '21
Grace Yakutis '20Lauren Lopez '20
*Total points scored when tied teams met (20)
**Total points scored when tied teams met (22)