Frank I Mendelblatt


Saturday, February 23:

Day 1 was a warm and sunny day in St. Petersburg with a mild southerly direction of 6-8 knots. The fleet sailed out in Tampa Bay off of Lassing Park. The first round finished before 1300 so the fleet sailed in and had a nice lunch break in the shade. The second started a little 1400 and was started in 8-10 with a slight right shift into the seabreeze. The seabreeze built to a solid 18 knot which made for a very fast second round robin. The teams hit the dock around 1630. Three protests were heard. Thank you to the USF Bulls team for running the races and to the visiting team coaches for hearing the protest. Racing resumes tomorrow with the third round.

Sunday, February 24:

Day two of the Mendelblatt saw a much cloudier but warm day. The original plan was to sail out in Tampa Bay again but as the boats were harbor starting, the approaching cold front pushed in a thick marine layer and so the race happened in the main basin of the Port of St. Petersburg. Race committee got an entire third round robin in just before lunch and it was agreed by all to finish the regatta at that point just in case bad weather from the front pushed on shore. Dr. David Mendelblatt came down to the Haney Landing Sailing Center and present the 2019 winners of the Frank I Mendelblatt Trophy to the Yale Bulldogs. Hugh “thank you” goes to both the Coed and the Women’s sailing team members for their race committee work. They ran an excellent regatta! We want to thank all the competitors for competing in the event this year. Safe travels and we will see you at the next regatta.

Final Results

1YaleYale UniversityBulldogs13/2Christine Klingler '20Anisha Arcot '22
Nicholas Marwell '21Kira Woods '19
Louisa Nordstrom '20Catherine Mollerus '21
Dylan DiMarchi '20
*2EckerdEckerd CollegeTritons10/5Daniel Vail '21Jackie Morrison '22
Cameron Douglas '20Liam Farese '22
Ian Willoughby '21Kim Kusminsky '19
Connor Ratcliff '21Camryn Kennedy '21
Karl Rasmus Sayre '19
**3JacksonvilleJacksonville UniversityFins10/5Stephan VerHulst '19Ana Carrasco '21
Alfonso Garcia Bringas '21Daniel Ofarril '22
Andre Guaragna '21Caroline Bourgeois '22
4CharlestonCollege of CharlestonCougars8/7James Whitmore '20Hunter Skinner '20
Carter Cameron '19Oliver Parsons '21
Ryan Ratliffe '21Max Williams '20
5South FloridaUniversity of South FloridaBulls4/11John Whitehead '20Carolina Perez Rovira '22
Kathryn Bornarth '21Samantha Kappaz '21
Marina Barzaghi '21John Monahan '20
Brett Putnam '22Darby Capellin '19
Delaney Brown '20Rachel Yannelli '19
Christian Koules '21 *Chloe Sweeting '22
Preston Senior '19Lexie Foos '22
Kyle Runnfeldt '20
6Salve ReginaSalve Regina UniversitySeahawks0/15Anthony Root '22Jennifer Killian '19
Jennifer Killian '19Anthony Root '22
Grace Vincens '20Jennifer Ryan '19
Joey Lark '21Peter Cronin '22
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)