Cal Team Race


Saturday, February 9:

Saturday morning the Bears woke up bright and early to tow sailboats from Treasure Island across the San Francisco Bay to Encinal Yacht Club so that we could begin racing. Conditions were rainy with breeze clocking from South to West as the day went on. We were able to complete 1 round robin.

Sunday, February 10:

Sunday's conditions began with lighter wind that progressively built to around 8 knots. We sailed a final bottom and top four, completing 12 races. Thank you to our volunteer PRO Paul Manning, Volunteers on Race Committee Bob Izmirian and Jon Paulsen, Commodore of Encinal Yacht Club and the rest of EYC, Umpires Vicki Sodaro and Paul Zupan, and Conference Commissioner Blaine Pedlow for helping us put on a successful regatta. Go Bears!

Final Results

*1Cal PolyCal Poly University S.L.O.Mustangs 16/1Ben Brough '19Grace Vandervort '21
Alyson Crowley '20Maddie Roman '20
Liam Hood '20Peyton Nienaber '22
**2Southern CalUniversity of Southern CaliforniaTrojans5/2Nicholas Stefanoni '21Katie McAllister '21
Grace Yakutis '20Camille Infurna '22
Sarah Alexander '19Sabrina Moreno '19
Will Paulsen '19Lauren Lopez '20
3Cal MaritimeCalifornia Maritime AcademyKeelhaulers6/1Benjamin Rohr '19Emi Stephanoff '21
Brock Paquin '22matthew Thomas '21
Jacob Fisker-Andersen '21Hailey Thompson '22
4BerkeleyUniversity of California at BerkeleyBears 14/3Drake Hayes '21Makena Cunningham Barkus '22
Ciara Dorsay '21Olivia MacDonald '19
Elizabeth Hansen '19Mackenzie Berwick '22
5BerkeleyUniversity of California at BerkeleyBears 23/4Nicolai Sponholtz '19Gregory Reich '21
Vincent Todosiev '19William Arnold '21
Holden Payne '21Paris Sato '21
Luc LaMontagne '22Lindsea Hayes '22
b6UC Santa BarbaraUniversity of California at Santa BarbaraGauchos2/5Tristan Richmond '22Olivia Beers '21
Jake Zieba '22Aine Roonan '21
Joseph Politi '22Samantha Obel '21
c7Monterey BayCalifornia State University Monterey BayOtters2/5Caila Devlin '21Ethan Switzer '22
Jason Gronich '21Clover Stubbert '20
Liam Patrick '22Max Graves '22
8Cal PolyCal Poly University S.L.O.Mustangs 20/7Mitchell Carroll '21Robyn Zulauf '20
Millan Chaudhary '21Sebastien Danthinne '22
Kai Ponting '23Corey Quillen '22
*Cal Poly had the best record overall
**USC had a tied record with CMA, but beat them in the final four.
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (2)
cNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)