Hanbury Trophy Team Race


Saturday, March 24:

It was a great crisp morning on the James River with fickle breeze that ranged from 10knts down to 3knts and from a range of directions from Northwest to Southwest. Despite the shifty conditions two rounds were completed and the first flight of round three.

Thank you to Coach Callahan, Eric Schwab, Evan Harrell, and Esteban Farrar for umpiring.

Sailors will complete round 3 and race committee will assess whether we will try for an additional round(s) tomorrow with available time and conditions.

Sunday, March 25:

Champagne conditions on the Warwick River for the completion of round three and four today for the Hanbury Trophy Team Race. Consistent northerly winds ranged from 8-14knts with little current.

Unfortunately, there was not enough time to complete a round five and racing was completed by 2:00PM

Congratulations to the Georgetown Hoyas on winning the 2018 Hanbury Trophy.

Thank you very much to the umpires: Eric Schwab, Evan Harrell, Mike Callahan, Esteban Farrar, and Kathryn Gomes.

Thank you to Ed Darling, Zig Patterson, and Joe Lieberman for their use of umpire and spectator boats.

Final Results

1GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas20/0Roger Dorr '18Haley Shea '19
Sean Segerblom '20Caroline Teare '21
Rose Edwards '18Rebecca Fung '19
Meaghan MacRae '18
2JacksonvilleJacksonville UniversityFins12/8Telmo Basterra '21Kelsy Waack '18
Andre Guaragna '21Ana Carrasco '21
Stephan VerHulst '19GiGi Arias '21
Ben McKissick-Hawley '20
3George WashingtonGeorge Washington UniversityColonials11/9Wade Wagner '19Mercedes McPhee '19
Sam White '18Clare Cassidy-Gardner '21
Marshall McCraw '20Kia Olsson '18
Taylor Brimberg '18
4NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen9/11James Morgan '18Bartholomew Winn '21
Sean Linden '21Abby Richardson '21
Tyler Fleig '19Alyson Wade '21
5Christopher NewportChristopher Newport UniversityCaptains6/14Spencer Charney '20Henry Clune '21
Javier Gonzalez Rotge '21Ian O'Connell '20
Vir Menon '20Kaitlyn Reilly '18
Anna Patterson '20
Aerin Gilday '21
Bailey Hurst '20
6Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs2/18Olivia Windemuller '19Abigail Tutt '21
Brendon Wilkins '18Makalynne Dyer '22
Bridget Groble '22Victoria Ewing '19
Kyle Mergenthaler '20Breanna Schultz '21
Hannah Pokorny '21Julia Williams-Portland '21
John Glenn '22