Admiral Moore Team Race


Saturday, March 24:

Day one of the 2018 Admiral Moore Team Race brought clear skies and mild temperatures to the East River. Winds ranged from NW to NNE at 5-15 mph. Many thanks to the hard working SUNY Maritime Cadets who kept the course square to the current and the wind. 28 races were sailed today in light and shifty conditions with varying amount of current. A huge thanks to our umpire team of Bam Miller, Larry Sill, Tony Weiner, Patricia Sykes, Madeline Gill, Mary Kate Mezzetti and Matthew Romanuski ‘16. Tomorrow we will begin with race 29, Michigan vs. New York Maritime.

Sunday, March 25:

Round robin 2 began promptly at 10:00. The breeze held steady all day at 12-22 knots from the ENE. A finish line within the SUNY Maritime mooring field allowed for quick rotations and RR2 was completed around 14:00. A final four round was sailed with a few minutes to spare before the 15:00 cutoff time. Congratulations to the Hobart and Williams Smith for winning the 2018 Admiral Moore Trophy!

Thanks again to Chief Umpire Bam Miller and his crew of umpires, Larry Sill, Tony Weiner, Patricia Sykes, Madeline Gill, Mary Kate Mezzetti, Matthew Romanuski '16, and Laura Mooney. Lastly, a huge thanks to the SUNY Maritime Cadets who ran races and set a team race course on the ever challenging East River.

MAISA Team Race League Scores: , HWS 6, NYM 5, GTN 4, FRD 3, UPN 2, UVA 1

Final Results

1Hobart & WilliamHobart and William Smith CollegesStatesmen17/0Greiner Hobbs '18Haley Okun '18
Kyle Easton '20Lindsey Kloc '19
Charles Miller '19Maya Weber '20
Hector Guzman '20
2NY MaritimeSUNY Maritime CollegePrivateers11/6Zachary Hill '18Timothy Montera '18
John Lawless '19Brian Buckley '21
Hunter Kahler '21Skye Miller '19
Kyle Comerford '19Kyle Gelderman '21
Christian Neuman '21
3GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas10/7Noah Kelleher '19Maya Rabinowitz '21
Jack Marshall '18Jack Hogan '22
Andrew Person '21Claire Mohun '19
Grace Hanrahan '18
4FordhamFordham UniversityRams8/9Roberto Stevens '19Cortney Rielly '20
Eduardo Mintzias '21Katherine Jones '18
Brad Seferian '19William Dumke '20
Tucker Hersam '20Annika Ekholm '20
Declan Lombard '21
*5PennsylvaniaUniversity of PennsylvaniaQuakers6/8Keen Butcher '18Greta Morrissette '21
Nicholas Floyd '19Dana Hackett '20
Joseph LaForgia '21Lucy Sergeant '18
**6Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks6/8Daniel Petrovic '19Megan Roach '18
Spencer Cartwright '22Emily Gildea '21
Dane Pedersen '19Henry Stames '18
7MichiganUniversity of MichiganWolverines4/10Mason Wolters '18Michael Gapuz '18
August Sturm '20Amy Baer '19
Austin Haag '20Sofia Gambini '19
8VirginiaUniversity of VirginiaWahoos0/14Colin Suvak '19Dorothy Stump '18
Colleen Roney '18Connor Segal '20
Trent Levy '21Michael Van Meter '20
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (0)