New England Team Race Championship/Fowle Trophy


Saturday, April 8:

Challenging day for all including competitors, race committee, umpires, scorekeepers and dock crew. Winds were NW 8-28 knots and quite shifty. A few breakdowns, the worst being spreader bracket rivets pulling out causing one mast to bend. To prevent a second bent mast, the rotation dropped six boats from 24 boats to 18 boats. Despite the reduced boats, all 66 races in round one were completed by exactly 1800. One race between BU and USCGA will be re-sailed at 0940 Sunday. Should BU prevail, the same two teams will sail-off for the 8th and final spot in the gold round of eight. Time permitting, a third championship round of six will also be added to determine the champion and three other qualifiers for nationals.

All 12 teams were quite competitive though Yale stands alone atop the leader board losing only their first race. Still much to be decided tomorrow probably in less wind than today.

Many thanks to the ten umpires led by Jeff Dusek, race committee Reid Van Gorder, Pierre DuPont, and Casey Gowrie (all Tufts grads), and to the Tufts undergrad dock crew led by Cam Holley (Lark repair) and Bobby McLaughlin (motorboats).

Umpires were Jeff Dusek, Kelsey Wheeler, Sam Madden, Peter Bailey, Matt Cohen, Alec Ruiz-Ramon, Will Bailey, Dan Nickerson, and Peter Tarlin.

Sunday, April 9:

Yet another challenging day except less windy so less breakdowns. First BU and Coast Guard had a resail, then MIT and Coast Guard had a resail, with Coast Guard getting eliminated from the Gold eight. Winds were generally WNW 5-15 most of the time but a couple North shifts caused a couple races to be abandoned. As the wind got lighter, the course got a bit shorter and further from the windward shore. For the final round the wind was W 3-10 and ten minutes after the final race, the wind went down to 0-4 right at 1630.

In the 28-race Gold round, Yale went 5-2 to keep the lead while MIT went 6-1 to move into second. BU and Harvard went 1-6 and 0-7 respectively and were eliminated from the championship round of six. Tufts dug the biggest hole among finalists with a 2-5 record for a distant 6th with five flights to go.

In the finals Yale went 3-2 to win by three wins. Meanwhile Tufts prevailed in all five of their final races in the lighter winds, all close, to vault all the way to second. MIT's 2-3 finals launched the Engineers into third place and their first bid to the ISCA Team Racing Nationals ever. Only one race behind second were the Eagles of Boston College in fourth hanging tough. Dartmouth lost a few early in the last round to drop to 5th. Roger Williams was right there the entire regatta but lost a heart breaker in their final to Dartmouth. Despite a disastrous start, The Hawks clawed back only to get nipped by the Big Green at the finish.

Super job throughout by Jeff Dusek's umpiring crew that included Kelsey Wheeler, Sam Madden, Michael Drumm, Dan Nickerson, Peter Bailey, John Pratt, John Moulthrop, Pearson Potts, Matt Cohen, Will Bailey, and John Pratt. Thanks also to Cam Holley and his large and diligent Tufts crew keeping the 24 Larks going. Casey Gowrie handled the complex scoring throughout, Reid Van Gorder started 112 races, and Pierre DuPont took every finish When Ken Legler buzzed around moving marks.

Congrats to the four qualifying teams but really to every team given the high caliber of competition among all 12 teams.

Final Results

1YaleYale UniversityBulldogs18/5Nicholas Baird '19Natalya Doris '17
Malcolm Lamphere '18Christopher Champa '18
Ian Barrows '17Chandler Gregoire '17
Joseph Kiss '17Clara Robertson '17
Graceann Nicolosi '20
*2TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos15/8Scott Barbano '17Ian Morgan '19
John Rolander '17Florian Eenkema Van Dijk '19
Alexander Tong '17Emily Shanley-Roberts '18
Aaron Klein '18
Lara Dienemann '18
**3MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers15/8Cutter O'Connell '18Stephen Duncan '20
Alexander Stewart '17Lisa Sukharev-Chuyan '16
Ty Ingram '18Trevor Long '19
Paige Omura '17
Jordan Ladd '17
Sameena Shaffeeullah '19
*4Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles14/9Charles Sinks '18Peter Lynn '19
Harry Koeppel '17Henry Dumke '17
Erika Reineke '17Allison Ferraris '17
Tara Ferraris '19
Emma Perry '19
Hannah Lynn '17
Scott Rasmussen '20
Lily McGrath '18
**5DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green14/9Robert Floyd '17Madeleine Cooney '17
Charles Lalumiere '17Nathaniel Greason '17
Christopher Williford '19Rebecca McElvain '19
Sophie Kerr '17
Sophia Diserio '18
6Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks13/10Martim Anderson '18Rebecca Anderson '18
Mackenzie Bryan '18Michael McBrien '18
Stewart Draheim '16Jennifer Agell '19
Conner Harding '19Hallie Repeta '19
Riley Eger '17
7Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers6/12Ravi Parent '18Alex Moreno '19
Robby Gearon '19Josh Dochoda '20
Reed Lorimer '18Lexi Pline '19
Josh Dochoda '20Hannah Davis '19
Hannah Polster '17Charles Honke '20
Caroline Salas '18
Reed Lorimer '18
Emily Croteau '19
8HarvardHarvard UniversityCrimson5/13Nick Sertl '18Nomin-Erdene Jagdagdorj '17
Taylor Ladd '18Kevin Coakley '18
Dylan Farrell '18Kirstin Anderson '18
Nick DiGiovanni '19Julia Lord '17
9Coast GuardU. S. Coast Guard AcademyBears3/8Nikole Barnes '17Austin Lettengarver '19
Dana Rohde '18Liam Ballantyne '19
Mack Fox '20August Sturm '19
Anna Morin '19
Maddie Ekin '20
b10BowdoinBowdoin CollegePolar Bears2/9Matthew Kaplan '19Mary Paz '17
Matthew Lyons '17Dana Bloch '17
Christian Filter '20Louisa Lindgren '19
Jack McGuire '17Chester Jacobs '17
Hunter Moeller '17
c11Connecticut CollegeConnecticut CollegeCamels2/9Hugh MacGillivray '18Erin Smith '19
Walter Florio '18Eliza Garry '17
Ragna Agerup '20Cooper Nefsky '17
Carter Pemberton '20Austin Smith '20
Albert Rodiger '18
d12BrownBrown UniversityBears2/9Patrick Shanahan '19Olivia Lord '17
Sam Alexander '18Emily Ito '19
Quinn Andersen '18Davis Tantillo '19
Franco Bilik '18Henry Sharpe '17
Rachel Gutman '17
Marina Cano '17
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
bTotal points scored when tied teams met (18)
cTotal points scored when tied teams met (20)
dTotal points scored when tied teams met (25)