Hanbury Trophy Team Race


Saturday, March 25:

Sailors were greeted with champagne conditions on the James River today! A beautiful Southwesterly ranging in 5-10knts gave us great team racing. The first round was completed before lunch, with two more full rounds completed before getting off the water for the day.

Seven protests were heard resulting in two DSQs. Thank you to Tyler Colvin (ODU) and Max Kurland (WAC) for helping hear protests.

Racing will commence again tomorrow with the hope for two final rounds.

Sunday, March 26:

Unfortunately, the conditions yesterday could not have been more opposite for the sailors at the Hanbury Trophy today. Sailors were put on a half hour delay schedule until 11AM where the final rounds were deleted and a final 4 format was put into place should the breeze decide to fill. Several attempts were made by the race committee to check the breeze. Some light southerly tried to fill but was overpowered by a slightly stronger Northeasterly that would come and go with passing clouds; but every time it would back off. After a coach's meeting it was decided that 1PM would be our cut off time. Since three rounds were completed yesterday with no ties the regatta was concluded at 1PM.

A huge thank you to all of the Captains, Joe Lieberman '73 and all of the parents and spectators.

Congratulations to the Wahoos on their win.

Final Results

1VirginiaUniversity of VirginiaWahoos14/1Alexander Singh '19Dorothy Stump '18
Colin Suvak '19Colleen Roney '18
Victor Layne '20Katarina Catallo '20
2Christopher NewportChristopher Newport UniversityCaptains12/3Austin Powers '17Anna Patterson '20
Vir Menon '20Mackenzie Conner '20
Spencer Charney '20Kaitlyn Reilly '18
3NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen10/5James Morgan '18Jessica McJones '20
Tyler Fleig '19Karma Richards '20
Nicholas Gartner '20Brittney Slook '20
4Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs5/10Brendon Wilkins '18Abigail Lockler '18
Olivia Windemuller '19Gavin Burkhart '20
Alec Chicoine '18Victoria Ewing '19
5GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas4/11Curtis Crooke '17Virginia Valenti '19
Clay Broussard '18Isabelle Trimble '19
Tuckerman Jones '17Grace Hanrahan '18
6Washington CollegeWashington CollegeShoremen0/15Alexander Smith '17Allison Cochran '18
Hannah Schmidt '17Andrew Vernon '20
Matthew McDermaid '17Lindsey Arnstein '18