2017 McIntyre Team Race


Saturday, February 25:

We had all conditions in Redwood creek today, from a light shifty easterly to a 12 kt Westerly and everything in between. Through it all the RC did a fantastic job of keeping racing going and competing the first RR plus 9 races into the second. A big thank you to our small but awesome umpire crew of Rob Overton, Bryan McDonald and Don Wieneke. The three umpires each had their own boat and dd a great job of watching over the racing. The umpires also did a debrief at the end of the day which was really beneficial to all the sailors. Racing starts tomorrow with race # 38! The plan is to finish RR 2 and go into a top four bottom 6 round.

Sunday, February 26:

Again, the RC did an amazing job through conditions that constantly changed. The breeze started out in 3-5 kt SE breeze as the day warmed up the breeze moved left to a NNE direction and picked up to 6-8 kts. During the final hour the breeze clocked all the way left to our Westerly sea breeze and brought 12-15kt hiking conditions. The all undergrad RC kept racing moving with really very little break time and was able to finish the second round and then sail a top 4 and bottom 4 round. The racing was tight in the end with the final race between Stanford and UCSB to determine the champions. In the end it came down to a last beat team race classic of a 1,4,5 v the 2,3,6. UCSB did a great job holding the 1,4,5 combo to take the win in the end. Congrats to UCSB for the win. Thank you to our RC and our tireless umpire crew of Rob Overton, Don Wieneke and Mike Gross. A big thank you to all the teams that came out.

Final Results

*1UC Santa BarbaraUniversity of California at Santa BarbaraGauchos15/2Keenan Chung '18Robert Johnson '19
Stephen Long '17Elizabeth Moody '20
Sterling Henken '18Claire Hunt '19
Christopher Weis '18
**2StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal15/2Will La Dow '18Kathryn Booker '19
Jacob Rosenberg '20Sarah Placek '18
Reinier Eenkema Van Dijk '17John Cannistraro '17
William Marshall '19Taylor Kirkpatrick '20
Cassie Obel '19
3HawaiiUniversity of HawaiiRainbows10/7Jeremy Hitchcock '17Danielle Ahir '20
Chuck Eaton '17Michael Magnussen '18
Charles Eaton IV '17Cole Brauer '17
Michael Pacholski '19
Patrick Wilkinson '20
4BerkeleyUniversity of California at BerkeleyBears7/10Ian Markowitz '17Megan Grosspietsch '20
Elizabeth Hansen '19Eric Witte '17
Andrew Solomon '18Ekaterina Goncharova '18
*5Cal MaritimeCalifornia Maritime AcademyKeelhaulers6/11Johannes McElvain '18Kian Patrick '20
Benjamin Rohr '19Lucas Earley '19
Nolan Van Dine '20Logan Allen '19
Flora Van Der Schoot '20
**6Cal PolyCal Poly University S.L.O.Mustang6/11Ben Brough '19Helen Payne '19
Liam Hood '20Alyson Crowley '20
Joseph Lausten '18Belle Lemoine '19
7NorthwesternNorthwestern UniversityWildcats5/12Ryder Easterlin '20Katherine O'Donnell '19
Jacob Bruce '16Zachary Herron '18
Noah Rosenthal '18Michael Pauleen '18
Mark Davies '20
8Oregon StateOregon State UniversityBeavers4/13Patrick (Drew) Ehlers '19Natalie Shaw '20
Michael Levy '19Quanah Green '18
Thomas Hope '20Andrew Wilkinson '18
Matthew Reynolds '20Matthew Reynolds '20
Andrew Wilkinson '18Thomas Hope '20
Michael Levy '19
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)