2017 Aaron Szambecki Team Race


Saturday, March 25:

Perfect conditions met the sailors today for the 2017 Aaron Szambecki Team Race. Sunny skies, temperatures in the mid 70s, and wind that stayed between 10-18 knots all day before tapering off late were appreciated by all. Two full round robins were sailed today leaving one more round tomorrow before splitting into a double top and bottom four. A huge thanks go out to the Monarch sailors who stayed out all day running great races for the visiting teams, and also to the umpire crew led by Chief Umpire Christine Accettella. And a special thank you to LaserPerformance for their generous support of the ODU Sailing Team's fund for American Foundation for Suicide Prevention in memory of Gray Kiger.

Georgetown leads the field going into tomorrow and we look forward to hosting a great final day to the regatta.

Sunday, March 26:

In a stark contrast to yesterday's conditions, sailors were met with a 2 hour wind delay. Once a light northeasterly breeze filled, racing was able to resume. Throughout the day the breeze gradually increased and shifted right. The Monarch race committee did a fabulous job of adjusting the course on the fly in an effort to get the 3rd round robin in. Fortunately we were able to get the final race completed with only a few minutes to spare. In the end the Old Dominion Monarchs were able to pull out the win after defeating Georgetown in the pair's final match of the regatta. Again many thanks to the umpire team of Chief Ump. Christine Accettella, Rob Overton, Steve Wrigley, Carrie Green, Rob Rowlands, Jeff Borland, Sam Ficksman, and Esteban Forrer who all worked tirelessly to provide great coverage for the competitors and a terrific debrief this morning.

And again congrats to the Old Dominion Monarchs on winning the 2017 Aaron Szambecki Team Race!

Final Results

*1Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs18/3Jeremy Herrin '18Molly Sternberg '17
James Jacob '18Carter Little '18
Dreugh Phillips '21Dane Pedersen '19
Lee Dumaliang '17Elleanor Wells '18
Jack Elkin '19Gabriel Smith '17
**2GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas18/3William Logue '20Albert Kraus '17
Andy Reiter '19Yusuf Mallick '19
Sean Segerblom '20Claire Mohun '19
Jack Gerli '17Macey McCann '20
3CharlestonCollege of CharlestonCougars15/6Gerald Williams '19Grace McCarthy '18
Stefano Peschiera '18Caroline Bracken '19
Alie Toppa '20Annabel Carrington '19
4St. Mary'sSt. Mary's College of MarylandSeahawks11/10Liam McCarthy '19Kira Allen '18
Carolyn Smith '17Lydia McPherson-Shambarger '19
Patrick Tara '17Kaisey McCallion '19
*5TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos8/13James Beatty '17Caroline Ambros '17
Jack Bitney '19Leah Fletcher '17
Chris Keller '19Natalie Danziger '17
Taylor Hart '19
**6NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen8/13Jimmy Madigan '18Emma Remis '20
Parker Loftus '20Kent Mathes '20
Maxwell Brill '20Manuel Inserni Pagan '17
7PennsylvaniaUniversity of PennsylvaniaQuakers5/16Nicholas Floyd '19Catie Hopkins '17
William Gallagher '20Dana Hackett '20
Carolyn Kearney '18Sarah Punzel '19
Max Slosburg '19
8Kings PointU. S. Merchant Marine AcademyMariners1/20Max Neubelt '17Patrick Hegarty '18
Ryan Wood '17Patrick Scollard '17
Garrett Lawlor '20Grier Wakefield '18
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)