The Wood Trophy


Saturday, March 12:

Day 1 of the Wood Trophy was a textbook display of Charles River racing, including 90 degree shifts and wind speeds varying from 1 to 24 knots coming from the west. We completed 2 full round robins and heard 7 protests, 2 of which resulted in disqualifications. Tomorrow, we will be running top 4 and bottom 4 round robins.

Our sincerest gratitude goes to Kevin Coakley, Dylan Farrell, and Mike O’Connor for running the race committee. Thank you to Robert Anderson and Josh Mandelbaum for recording all finishes. We are expecting clear skies and great breeze for racing tomorrow. To paraphrase Coach Bill Belichick, “we’re on to the second day of the Wood Trophy.”

Sunday, March 13:

The competitors were faced with a very shifty northerly on the Charles today. We sailed a double round-robin of the top 4 teams, and a single round of the bottom 4 before the breeze caved. Congratulations to BC for beating URI in tie breaker.

Final Results

1Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles16/4Henry Dumke '17Fiona Walsh '17
Harry Koeppel '17Megan Bamford '18
Wade Waddell '19Kaitlin Driscoll '16
Hannah Lynn '17
2Rhode IslandUniversity of Rhode IslandRams14/6Caleb Armstrong '16Sarah Morin '18
Brendan Read '19Fiona Christie '17
Rachel Bryer '17Hannah Scanlon '18
Matthew Coughlin '16Ryan Geib '19
Ellis Havelock '18
Kathryn Nota '19
3MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers13/7Trevor Long '19Kyle Joba-Woodruff '17
Ty Ingram '18Christopher Ford '16
Cutter O'Connell '18Elizabeth Zhang '16
David Larson '16Lisa Sukharev-Chuyan '16
Joseph Paggi '16Jordan Ladd '17
Alexander Stewart '17Greta Farrell '18
4BrownBrown UniversityBears8/9Quinn Andersen '18Rachel Gutman '17
Sam Alexander '18Haley Carter '17
Franco Bilik '18Eric Xiao '17
Reid Secondo '16Abigayle Konys '19
5HarvardHarvard UniversityCrimson5/12Juan Perdomo '17Christine Gosioco '19
Nick DiGiovanni '19Catherine Tang '19
Jackson Wagner '19Lena Episalla '19
Dylan Farrell '18Kevin Coakley '18
6PennsylvaniaUniversity of PennsylvaniaQuakers4/16Maximiliano Agnese '16Catie Hopkins '17
Drew Gallagher '18Lucy Sergeant '18
Joseph Egan '18Raemie Ladner '19
7Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers5/12Robby Gearon '19Andrew Reed '18
Charles Welsh '18Lily Lichtenstein '18
Alex Moreno '19Sarah Ziobro '19
Jacqueline Farnsworth '17
Emily Walker '19
8FordhamFordham UniversityRams1/16Matt Cappetta '19Bailey Fryer '18
Brad Seferian '19Gabrielle Mascio '18
Anders Ekholm '17Katherine Jones '18
Roberto Stevens '19