Rudkin Team Race


Saturday, March 12:

The Second Inaugural Rudkin Team Race started in great success! If you recall, March 2015 and Mother Nature brought a sheet of ice to Mt. Hope Bay causing a cancellation of the event. The Rudkin Team Race was named after Alex Rudkin ('14) who was a three time captain of the team and undergrad President of NEISA. Alex came back to campus to be the PRO for the event, with the help of Mr. Cook (P'15) and Ginny Yeatts ('19).

Today was greeted with a strong southerly filling in. Steady 11 knots in the morning increasing to 15-18 knots in the afternoon. Four teams battled the current and breeze while completing two round robins and starting the third. Racing will continue tomorrow with the hopes of finishing the third round robin as well as completing two more rounds.

Sunday, March 13:

The Rudkin Team Race finished day two by completing a third round robin. Breeze was NNW around 11 knots dying to 0-4 knots, leading to a perfect lunch break. The wind speed in the afternoon fought the current making it difficult to start the 4th round robin. After sitting in AP for 1.5 hours, the time to complete the final six races by the cut off point was not possible.

Congratulations to Tufts for winning the first (sailable) Rudkin Team Race. Thanks again to Alex Rudkin ('14), James Cook (P '15), Catherine Towner ('16), and Ginny Yeatts ('19) for helping run the Rudkin.

Final Results

1TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos 17/2Alexander Tong '17Lara Dienemann '18
Jack Bitney '19Natalie Danziger '17
Cameron Holley '19Aaron Klein '18
2Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks5/4Kendal Richardson '17James Bartlein '15
Conner Harding '19Tyler Killion '18
Preston Duclos '19Hallie Repeta '19
3TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos 23/6James Beatty '17Julien Guiot '18
Pere Puig '19Nicholas Giacobbe '19
Samuel Shea '19Marie-Louise Schnetz '19
Kahler Newsham '19
4NortheasternNortheastern UniversityHuskies0/10Peter Christensen '18Katherine Alfond '19
Donal Ryan '19Jacqueline Berlin '19
Chris Colbeth '20Elise Gehling '17
Anne Wieland '19