New England Team Race Championship / Fowle Trophy


Saturday, April 9:

Day one of the Fowle Trophy saw 31 races completed, mostly in a nice southerly that formed shortly after noon. A few races were started and abandoned both prior and after the southerly. We had a great team of race committee personnel and umpires on the water, on who will be mentioned in tomorrow's summary. The warning for Race 32 will be at 10am. With a favorable forecast we are hopeful to get in the regatta's full format.

Sunday, April 10:

Despite a better forecast, Sunday proved to be another tricky one for the race committee. PRO Kevin Dooley did a phenomenal job moving the course several times to keep things square and fair. We started racing in a northeasterly, ended in a southwesterly, and probably saw every direction in between. After Round 1 was completed, a final five was attempted but ultimately could not be finished.

We owe a huge thanks to Kevin who was aided by CGA undergrads Matt Orgill, Dan Winter, Tom Kiesel, AJ Lettengarver, Connor Oursler, Jack Gumbleton, Liam Ballantyne, Josh Gumbleton, Derek Silliman, and Augie Sturm. It was an extremely difficult task keeping the course in the right spot throughout the weekend. The race committee did a fantastic job.

Our excellent team of umpires was led by Peter Johns. Also on the water were Colin Smith, Matt Cohen, Mark Zagol, John Pratt, Mike Levesque, Kelsey Wheeler, Sam Madden, Cam Cullman, Jamie Ewing, Bob Austin-LaFrance, Peter Bailey, Ben Greenfield, Rick Sullivan, Roy Ingham, Madeline Gill, and Karl Ziegler. Jenny Lane (CGA '15) was on hand to lend assistance to the umps and make their job as easy as possible. Thank you to the entire umpire team.

Thanks as well to Matt Lindblad who was incredibly helpful as the NEISA Rep and to Greg Wilikinson who lent a hand with some potential Tech Score rotations. CGA photographer Ed Pepin got some great photos of all the competitors that will be emailed to coaches next week.

Congratulations to the Yale Bulldogs, 2016 New England Team Race Championship. Joining them to represent NEISA at the 2016 Team Race National Championship are the Boston College Eagles, Brown Bears, and Dartmouth Big Green.

Final Results

1YaleYale UniversityBulldogs10/1Ian Barrows '17Meredith Megarry '17
Joseph Kiss '17Clara Robertson '17
Malcolm Lamphere '18Charlotte Belling '16
Natalya Doris '17
Chandler Gregoire '17
2Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles8/3Harry Koeppel '17Hannah Lynn '17
Raul Rios '16Tara Ferraris '19
Charles Sinks '18Allison Ferraris '17
Katja Sertl '16
Katherine Downey '16
Fiona Walsh '17
*3BrownBrown UniversityBears7/4Patrick Shanahan '19Katherine Sudol '16
Nathan Allman '16Ragna Eide '16
Pearson Potts '16Marina Cano '17
**4DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green7/4Robert Floyd '17Madeleine Cooney '17
Charles Lalumiere '17Rebecca McElvain '19
Christopher Williford '19Abigail Rohman '16
5Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks6/5Martim Anderson '18Rebecca Anderson '18
Connor Corgard '16Sara Swanson '16
Stewart Draheim '16Michael McBrien '18
Mackenzie Bryan '18Breanne Baldino '16
b6Connecticut CollegeConnecticut CollegeCamels5/6Bryce Kopp '16Victoria Allen '16
Walter Florio '18Erin Smith '19
Hugh MacGillivray '18Albert Rodiger '18
Eliza Garry '17
c7Rhode IslandUniversity of Rhode IslandRams5/6Caleb Armstrong '16Lauren Richards '19
Rachel Bryer '17Hannah Scanlon '18
Matthew Coughlin '16Kathryn Nota '19
b8HarvardHarvard UniversityCrimson5/6Andrew Mollerus '16Sydney Karnovsky '16
Nick Sertl '18Nomin-Erdene Jagdagdorj '17
Marek Zaleski '16Julia Lord '17
c9Coast GuardU. S. Coast Guard AcademyBears5/6Avery Fanning '16Robert Turley '16
Nikole Barnes '17Anna Morin '19
Dana Rohde '18Andrew Britton '16
Hannah Herring '18
*10BowdoinBowdoin CollegePolar Bears3/8Jack McGuire '17Hunter Moeller '17
William Hawk '18Mary Paz '17
Matthew Kaplan '19Louisa Lindgren '19
Matthew Lyons '17Julia Rew '16
**11MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers3/8Alexander Stewart '17Paige Omura '17
Ty Ingram '18Jordan Ladd '17
David Larson '16Greta Farrell '18
Cutter O'Connell '18Kyle Joba-Woodruff '17
Joseph Paggi '16Christopher Ford '16
Lisa Sukharev-Chuyan '16
12Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers2/9Ryan Astwood '16Kayla Lynch '16
Brendan Cook '16Joseph Benoit '16
Ravi Parent '18Lexi Pline '19
Caroline Salas '18
Simon Bertocci '16
*Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (0)
bTotal points scored when tied teams met (9)
cTotal points scored when tied teams met (12)