MAISA Team Race Championship/Capt. Prosser Trophy


Saturday, April 9:

Unfortunately no racing was held today. The breeze averaged near 25 knots all day with gusts that reached 48 knots around midday and continued well into the 30s all afternoon. At 1730 the decision was made to call racing for the day and try again tomorrow.

As per the MAISA Scheduling Bulletin rules, the report time for tomorrow is moved up to 0830 with a first start at 9:00. Many thanks to all of the teams and support staff for sticking around all day and waiting patiently.

Sunday, April 10:

Racing started today in champagne conditions on the Elizabeth River. Bright, sunny skies with 8-11 knots of breeze from the north got the day of racing off right. Throughout the day the breeze died and shifted regularly and the race management team did a great job keeping the racing as fair as possible. Round 1 was completed at around 1:00pm which forced the end time of the regatta to be moved back to sunset as per MAISA Bulletin rules. After a short wind delay the breeze refilled from the North and shifted Northwest before dying yet again before shifting hard with a fresh sea-breeze out of the Southeast. The final race of the second round was completed at 6:40 but a final sail-off for the podium took place between Georgetown and St. Mary's with Georgetown taking the win and the championship. In all 57 races were completed on the day with the top 4 teams separating late.

The regatta could not have happened without the outstanding work of the ODU Monarch sailors and our umpire team of Rob Overton, Andrea Luna, Sam Stokes, Michael Komar, Brady Stagg, K.C. Fullmer, Ron Thompson, and Rusty Burschell.

Another big thank you also to our sponsor, Spectrum Financial, for the breakfast and coffee each day as well as the great giveaways!

Congratulations to the Georgetown Hoyas on the win, and also to the St. Mary's Seahawks, Old Dominion Monarchs, and the Naval Academy Midshipmen for qualifying for the 2016 ICSA Team Race National Championship this May in San Diego, CA.

Final Results

*1GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas13/1Sean Golden '16Isabelle Ruiz De Luzuriaga '16
Nevin Snow '16Mary Kate Mezzetti '16
AJ Reiter '17Meaghan MacRae '18
Bettina Redway '16
**2St. Mary'sSt. Mary's College of MarylandSeahawks13/1Edmund Cooper '17Shelby Jacobs '17
Alexander Curtiss '16Mariah Leffingwell '16
Markus Edegran '16Kaitlyn Noreen '16
Chase Quinn '17Greer Wattson '17
3Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs10/4Esteban Forrer '16Gabriel Smith '17
Joseph David '16Grace Mason '16
Augie Dale '18Katelyn Talley '16
Kaylie Gallagher '16
4NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen8/6Michael Popp '16Molly Hanson '17
Gary Prieto '18Mary Robertson '17
Michael Madigan '17Michelle Katz '18
Patrick Snow '17Megan Hough '16
5NY MaritimeSUNY Maritime CollegePrivateers4/10Zachary Hill '18Timothy Montera '18
Kyle Comerford '19Andreas Adam '18
John Lawless '19Caitlin Cummings '18
John Nothacker '16Matthew Romanuski '16
b6Hobart & WilliamHobart and William Smith CollegesStatesmen3/11Eddie Cox '16Haley Okun '18
Greiner Hobbs '18Christopher Manson-Hing '19
Charles Miller '19Lindsey Kloc '19
c7CornellCornell UniversityBig Red3/11Connor Kelter '18Julie Barbera '17
Clark Uhl '19Claire Riedman '16
Alex Woloshyn '17Lindsay Gimple '17
Dalton Brauer '16
8George WashingtonGeorge Washington UniversityColonials2/12Kai Friesecke '18Riley Legault '19
Brendan Shanahan '17Miranda Bakos '18
Derek Poon Tip '19Isabel Strachan '18
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
bTotal points scored when tied teams met (18)
cTotal points scored when tied teams met (24)