John Jackson Team Race


Saturday, March 14:

It was a very wet day on the Potomac River. The regatta started at 10am with a light SE wind that filled in nicely and shifted to the SSW. Racing was held in the Washington Sailing Marina Lagoon. The wind was quite shifty which led to multiple lead changes and very close racing. Coaches acted as umpires and did a decent job. 50 races were completed leaving just six races left to complete the second round robin. If the wind allows we will try to complete a final four and a bottom four as well.

Sunday, March 15:

Racing started at 945 in a WNW wind of 10-12mph. The first three races were sailed without issue. At the beginning of race 54 a 25mph puff rolled through and caused a number of capsizes. The FJs were sent in and the final race was sailed in z420s. The race committee decided to end racing at the end of the 2nd round due to the wind and the forecast for it to increase.

Congrats to St Marys for winning the 2015 John Jackson Memorial Team Race Regatta.

Final Results

1St. Mary'sSt. Mary's College of MarylandSeahawks11/3Kyle Burgess '17Grace McDougall '16
Chase Quinn '17Marissa Golison '16
Thomas Galster '15Rachel Ryan '15
*2Hobart & WilliamHobart and William Smith CollegesStatesmen8/6Eddie Cox '16Haley Okun '18
Greiner Hobbs '18Shannon Lawler '18
Elliott Morrill '15Erica Oosterhoff '18
Connor Swikart '18
**3NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen8/6Michael Popp '16Brittany Webb-Martin '18
Michael Madigan '17Michelle Katz '18
Gary Prieto '18Megan Hough '16
Patrick Snow '17
b4Coast GuardU. S. Coast Guard AcademyBears8/6Nikole Barnes '17Andrew Britton '16
Avery Fanning '16Robert Turley '16
Dylan Finneran '15Sulli Edwards '17
c5MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers8/6David Larson '16Paige Omura '17
Alexander Stewart '17Greta Farrell '18
Cutter O'Connell '18Christopher Ford '16
Jordan Ladd '17
6GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas7/7Nancy Hagood '14Meaghan MacRae '18
Jack Marshall '18Elisabeth Freese '16
Massimo Mazzolini '17Carolyn Dahl '18
AJ Reiter '17Hollis Dana '16
Alex Post '15Elizabeth Mullarney '16
7Connecticut CollegeConnecticut CollegeCamels5/9Jordan Bothwick '15Lea Bushnell '15
Bryce Kopp '16Walter Florio '18
Cooper Nefsky '17Victoria Allen '16
Hugh MacGillivray '18Cooper Nefsky '17
Walter Florio '18Eliza Garry '17
Albert Rodiger '18
8Washington CollegeWashington CollegeShoremen1/13Ryan Bailey '15Lindsey Arnstein '18
Eleanor Conroy '15Allison Cochran '18
Eric Siegel '16Griffin Rodrigue '18
*Number of races won when tied teams met (4)
**Total points scored when tied teams met (19)
bTotal points scored when tied teams met (23)
cNumber of races won when tied teams met (2)