Graham Hall Team Race


Saturday, March 21:

Competitors arrived to the Robert Crown Center this morning to cloudy skies with temps in the mid 40s. Unfortunately the lack of wind after the scheduled 0920 report time prevented any sailing from getting underway on time. After a short postponement on shore, the sailors were sent out onto the Severn River at approximately 1100 as the breeze began to fill from the Southeast. Skies cleared and the wind settled in at around 6-8 knots where it remained for the whole day. A total of 12 flights were completed before sailing was called for the day at 1730. One request for breakdown was granted in race 15, and as a result that race (CofC vs Fordham) will be re-sailed at the end of the round robin.

An enormous thank you to our RC group of Juliette Thompson, Dave Schoene, and Rick Sellars, led by PRO Prof. Kyle Assad for running an efficient 72 races today. Another big thanks to our judges, led by CHump Rob Overton, Dillon Pavia, Joel Labuzetta, Larry Sill, John Wright, Andrew Cole, Doc Sullivan, and Dave Clinnin. Thank you also to the group of Midshipmen who were on call during their spring break to move marks and handle minor breakdowns. The forecast for tomorrow looks a bit windier with the breeze expected out of the North/Northwest.

Sunday, March 22:

Sunday brought beautiful Spring sailing conditions to Annapolis. The breeze began out of the Northwest at around 12 knots with brief puffs into the low teens. Throughout the day the breeze moderated up and down but remained around 10 knots. A course was set up off of the Robert Crown Center this morning and racing got underway at around 1000. The full round robin was completed by 1230, and the fleet was then split into two groupings of four (1-4, and 5-8). One round was completed in each grouping before the cut off time of 1500 making for 132 total races for the weekend.

Another enormous thank you to our group of volunteer umpires and race committee members. This event is a huge undertaking and without their help, the event simply wouldn't happen. Race Committee members included Juliet Thompson, Dave Schoene, Gavin O'Hare, Rick Sellars, and PRO Kyle Assad. Umpires were Dave Clinnin, Dillon Pavia, Joel Labuzetta, Larry Sill, Doc Sullivan, John Wright, Andrew Cole, and ChUmp Rob Overton.

Congratulations to the College of Charleston Cougars for winning the 2015 Graham Hall Team Race.

Final Results

1CharlestonCollege of CharlestonCougars16/2Charles Rees '16Tierney Driscoll '15
Ryan Davidson '16Emily Stuart '16
Jake Reynolds '16Rebekah Schiff '16
Alicia Blumenthal '15
2Boston CollegeBoston CollegeEagles15/3William Bailey '15Katherine Wysocki '15
Erika Reineke '17Elizabeth Barnard '15
Charles Sinks '18Allison Ferraris '17
Christopher Dwyer '15
*3StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal13/5Will La Dow '18Samantha Steele '16
Hans Henken '15Nicolette Obel '17
Kieran Chung '15Haley Kirk '15
**4St. Mary'sSt. Mary's College of MarylandSeahawks13/5Edmund Cooper '17Allison Shane '15
Alexander Curtiss '16Mariah Leffingwell '16
Jacob La Dow '15Shelby Jacobs '17
b5GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas13/5Sean Golden '16Isabelle Ruiz De Luzuriaga '16
AJ Reiter '17Elizabeth Mullarney '16
Alex Post '15Bettina Redway '16
6TuftsTufts UniversityJumbos11/7Alejandro Ruiz-Ramon '15Sam Madden '15
Dan Nickerson '15Alexander Tong '17
Duncan Swain '15Jamie Maffeo '15
Emily Shanley-Roberts '18
7NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen9/9Mary Hall '15Connor Hendi '15
Michael Popp '16Peter Hogan '18
Patrick Snow '17Alexandra Asuncion '15
Charles Peck '15
Emma Ferris '15
Aaron Hull '16
8DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green7/11Deirdre Lambert '15Nathaniel Greason '17
Ian Storck '15Madeleine Cooney '17
Scott Houck '15Sophie Kerr '17
Charles Lalumiere '17Abigail Rohman '16
c9BrownBrown UniversityBears6/9Lucas Adams '15Marina Cano '17
Nathan Allman '16Ragna Eide '16
James Barry '16Rachel Gutman '17
Pearson Potts '16Lydia Whiteford '15
d10Roger WilliamsRoger Williams UniversityHawks6/9William Macdonald '15Breanne Baldino '16
Riley Eger '17James Bartlein '15
Henry Vogel '15William Macdonald '15
Connor Corgard '16Wendy Reuss '15
Abby Preston '15
e11Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs6/9Esteban Forrer '16Gabriel Smith '17
Daniel LOCHNER '15Carter Little '18
Jacob Spracher '15Katelyn Talley '16
Joseph David '16Grace Mason '16
f12South FloridaUniversity of South FloridaBulls6/9Christopher Stocke '15Ali Yarbrough '16
Benjamin Mohney '15Kristen Walker '17
Paul Perry '15Brendan Feeney '18
Sean Cornell '18Paul Perry '15
13FordhamFordham UniversityRams5/10Will Holz '17Emma Huntress '16
Olin Paine '16Evan Morgan '18
Alecsander Tayler '17Connor Murphy '16
Jamie Spence '18
14Hobart & WilliamHobart and William Smith CollegesStatesmen3/12Eddie Cox '16Shannon Lawler '18
Greiner Hobbs '18Kelly Monahan '18
Elliott Morrill '15Haley Okun '18
15NY MaritimeSUNY Maritime CollegePrivateers2/13Nick Valente '16Caitlin Cummings '18
Austin Buonsignore '16James Lane '17
Matthew Romanuski '16Matthew Romanuski '16
Zachary Hill '18Christopher Whalen '15
16PennsylvaniaUniversity of PennsylvaniaQuakers1/14Drew Gallagher '18Lucy Sergeant '18
Joseph Egan '18Caroline Garth '17
Jack Swikart '15Cary Kane '17
*Total points scored when tied teams met (18)
**Total points scored when tied teams met (24)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)
cTotal points scored when tied teams met (9)
dTotal points scored when tied teams met (12)
eTotal points scored when tied teams met (7)
fTotal points scored when tied teams met (14)