Gill College Sailing Coed National Championship


Wednesday, June 3:

The Gill Coed Dinghy National Championship continued with the top eighteen collegiate teams in the nation now advanced from the previous two days of racing in the semi-finals to make it to the finals event, which began today.

Racing got underway on time at 9:30 a.m., but once the sailors hit the water the race officials called for a wind delay. Eventually the racing began and A-division was able to complete their first race in a light northerly breeze before it died and the officials called for another wind delay. By around 1 p.m. the competitors were back on the water racing. A nice southerly built and brought steady 12-13 knots of breeze in the afternoon.

The temperatures were warmer than yesterday in the low 60s and although the wind was still a bit chilly, the sun was out. The race committee was able to run races until about 6 p.m.

A-division sailed in FJs and B-division sailed in Z420s. Both divisions were able to complete nine races on windward leeward courses with four legs.

Yale University is leading after today’s racing with a 19-point gap between them and U.S. Coast Guard Academy in second place. In third place is College of Charleston 22-points behind Coast Guard.

Thursday, June 4:

The final day of the Gill Coed Dinghy National Championship concluded four days of competition, with Yale University winning the national title and the Henry A. Morss Memorial Trophy.

The sailors hit the water to begin racing this morning, but the winds were too light and the current was too strong, so racing was postponed for a couple of hours. By 11:15 a.m. racing began with a steady southeasterly breeze filling in and building to around 8-12 knots with higher gusts this afternoon. The sun was out and temperatures stayed around 60 degrees.

The race committee was able to complete nine races today in both divisions for a total of 18 races for the regatta. A-division sailed in Z420s and B-division sailed in FJs today. The sailors competed on windward-leeward three, four, or five leg courses.

Thanks to our judges Jon Pratt, Pat Healy, Dick Gumpert, and Peter Johns. A huge thanks as well to everyone who helped run great races on the water: John Ingalls, Michael Komar, Heather Tow-Yick (Brown '98), the Brown University and Salve Regina Sailing Teams, and Danielle Richards for the being the ICSA Representative. Special thanks as well to Rob Migliaccio for his incredible photography throughout all of the events, and to all of our coach boats (Pearson Potts, Bill Canfield, and Nick Bailey). We cannot thank Brad Dellenbaugh, Beth Duggan, Dani Burton, and event co-chair Susan Daly from the New York Yacht Club enough for their tremendous efforts in helping organize all of the events along with Kim Hapgood and Brad Read from Sail Newport. Thanks so much for opening your doors to college sailing and helping make the 2015 College Sailing Spring Nationals such a tremendous success!

Score summary

2Coast GuardBears110145255
3Boston CollegeEagles134131265
6St. Mary'sSeahawks146173319
7Roger WilliamsHawks179145324
10Old DominionMonarchs157183340
12Kings PointMariners159196355
16BowdoinPolar Bears210216426
17NY MaritimePrivateers211219430

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.