Staake Trophy


Saturday, March 22:

A great day of racing at Bethel Point! Three round robins were completed in breeze that started as a light SE 3-5 and slowly went to the S as the day went on. A snow squall came through in the middle of the afternoon resulting in a bigger southerly breeze and larger waves. The breeze gradually settled to 8-10 knot southerly and ideal conditions to team race in. A huge thank you to our three umpires that helped keep the racing fair on the water including Mark Dinneen '08, Stu MacNeil '08, and Andrew Stern. Another huge thanks goes out to the Polar Bears that braved the finish boat including Lizzy Hamilton '15, Matt Lyons, '17, and Dana Bloch '17.

Sunday, March 23:

Another round robin was completed followed by a final four. The breeze ranged from 5-15 and shifted between the WSW and NW throughout the day. The umpire team of Mark Dinneen '08, Stu MacnNeil '08, Andrew Stern, and Craig Nale did a great job of keeping the racing fair. There were no breakdowns. A big thanks to the Polar Bear army that helped run the event. Bowdoin won the event with a record of 20-3 followed by MIT with a record of 15-8 and both teams earned a spot at Team Race New Englands.

Final Results

1BowdoinBowdoin CollegePolar Bears20/3Michael Croteau '15Mary Paz '17
Jack McGuire '17Jackson Bloch '15
Kaylee Schwitzer '15Paige Speight '16
Peter Edmunds '14Charlotte Williamson '15
Tom Peabody '14Julia Rew '16
2MITMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyEngineers16/7David Alfonso '14Christopher Ford '16
David Larson '16Iris Xu '14
Joseph Paggi '16Jordan Ladd '17
Alexander Stewart '17
3Boston UniversityBoston UniversityTerriers12/11Cameron Fraser '14Kayla Lynch '16
Michael Saldi '15Joseph Benoit '16
Brendan Cook '16Hannah Callahan '16
Ryan Astwood '16Margaret Swanson '16
4Rhode IslandUniversity of Rhode IslandRams11/12Caleb Armstrong '16Elizabeth Durgin '16
Matthew Coughlin '16Kaitlyn Norton '15
Samuel Cushing '15Matthew Gibbs '17
Ian White '16Matthew Sola '15
5NortheasternNortheastern UniversityHuskies4/16Maarten Eenkema Van Dijk '14Margo Blagden '16
Conor Lodge '14Estelle Beguin '14
Victoria McGruer '17Elizabeth Sczerzenie '15
Estella Lofftus '16
6Salve ReginaSalve Regina UniversitySeahawks3/17Robert Lippincott '14Baillie Lawless '15
Christopher Jensen '14Kaylen Heath '16
John Silvestri '16Hayden Maguire '16
Angelina Todaro '16