2014 Aaron Szambecki Team Race


Saturday, March 22:

Sailors experienced a great day of spring sailing at Old Dominion.  Temperature made it to the low 70s on shore with a sunny southwest wind from 8-25. For most teams, everyone sailed at some point during the 64 races completed. 

Special thanks to Town Point Yacht Club for their hospitality with hot grilled food today!

Sunday, March 23:

Sailors were greeted to a stiff breeze averaging around 20 knots, gusting as high as 28 out of the North. This made for some great racing by all teams and the 3rd round was completed. The event lived up to its reputation as the toughest team race regatta of the year. 3 races were re-sailed due to two breakdowns and one with an injured sailor due to a boat on boat collision. Time ran out for the scheduled Top 4/Bottom 4 round.

In all 87 races were sailed on the weekend and many thanks go out to our team of umpires, led by Christine Accattella. The other generous umpires were Sam Stokes, Dillon Paiva, Clark Hayes, Samantha Ficksman, Rob Overton, Carrie Greene, John Mooney, Rob Rowlands, and Eric Johnson. Also the event could not have gone on without the Old Dominion Undergrads who ran all of the races.

Congratulations to the St. Mary's College of Maryland Seahawks on a well earned victory squeaking out a highly competitive field at the 2014 Aaron Szambecki Team Race.

Final Results

*1St. Mary'sSt. Mary's College of MarylandSeahawks16/5Joshua Greenslade '14Nicole DeAngeli '14
Fletcher Sims '14Thad Bench '15
John Wallace '14Kelley Merryman '14
Catherine Shanahan '15
Allison Shane '15
**2YaleYale UniversityBulldogs16/5Christopher Segerblom '14Eugenia Custo Greig '14
Graham Landy '15Charlotte Belling '16
Ian Barrows '17Katherine Gaumond '15
Meredith Megarry '17
3StanfordStanford UniversityCardinal15/6Kevin Laube '14Yuri Namikawa '14
Mateo Vargas '14Tally Buckstaff '14
Oliver Toole '14Nicolette Obel '17
Hans Henken '15Mary Vangelos '17
Kieran Chung '15Haley Kirk '15
4CharlestonCollege of CharlestonCougars14/7Jake Reynolds '16Alicia Blumenthal '15
Ryan Davidson '16Rebekah Schiff '16
Nick Johnstone '15Emily Stuart '16
Roy Shaw '14
Septima McAdams '16
*5NavyU. S. Naval AcademyMidshipmen8/13Michael Grove '14Alexandra Asuncion '15
Mary Hall '15Elizabeth Morrison '14
Michael Popp '16Aaron Hull '16
Charles Peck '15
Chelsea Smith '14
**6GeorgetownGeorgetown UniversityHoyas8/13Sean Golden '16Isabelle Ruiz De Luzuriaga '16
Alex Post '15Jack Welty '16
Nevin Snow '16Bettina Redway '16
Katie Olsen '15
Isabelle Teare '17
Brian Poirier '17
7DartmouthDartmouth CollegeBig Green7/14Evan Read '16Abigail Rohman '16
Deirdre Lambert '15Hunter Johnstone '16
Matthew Wefer '14Nathaniel Greason '17
Avery Plough '14
8Old DominionOld Dominion UniversityMonarchs0/21Jacob Spracher '15Chloe Constants '14
Joseph David '16Julia Wiesner '14
Esteban Forrer '16Gabriel Smith '17
Daniel LOCHNER '15Jill Fattibene '14
Colin Voigt '15
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)