PCCSC Men's Single-Handed Championship


Saturday, October 7:

Full weekend summary written on Sunday, October 8th.

Sunday, October 8:

The PCCSC Single-Handed Conference Championship saw 15 male full-rig sailors and 11 women radial sailors competing for 2 spots in each division that would qualify for the Single-Handed Collegiate National Championship. The PCCSC was excited to welcome University of Nevada at Reno to the conference as they competed in their first regatta.

Conditions varied quite a bit on Saturday with choppy southern swell against a shifty WSW breeze that varied from 4 knots up to 14 knots at points. Competition was tight in the top 3 in both men and women's with the top three being from Stanford and UCSB in both cases. There was one DSQ on Saturday that was a result of a Rule 42 penalty administered by the on the water judge. No protests were filed.

Sunday brought lighter, shiftier conditions from the SSW. The top three were close in both fleets and so there was very hard fought competition for the two qualifying spots. It was very close at points, but ultimately the two qualifiers for both the women and men held on to their spots and are headed to the Collegiate Single-handed National Championship! Congratulations to senior, Luke Muller of Stanford and freshman, Lucas Pierce of UCSB for qualifying on the men's side and congratulations to freshman, Christina Sakellaris of Stanford, and freshman, Sophia Sole of Stanford for qualifying on the women's side.

Finally, thank you to our co-PRO's, Rob Grant and Scott Deardorff (UCSB '85) as well as our judges Remy Margerum, Sky Adams, and Andrew Nunn. Finally, thank you to the current UCSB Gaucho team for helping set the course.

Score summary

1StanfordLuke Muller '183434
2UC Santa BarbaraLucas Pierce '214040
3StanfordWilliam Marshall '195050
4UC Santa CruzAli Fuat Yuvalı '2173MRP73
5UNRHendrik Reidel '218585
6Southern CalNicholas Stefanoni '219595
7HawaiiRainbows 2120120
8HawaiiPatrick Wilkinson '20135135
9Cal PolyJoseph Lausten '18136136
10BerkeleyDrake Hayes '21150150
11UC Santa BarbaraJack Holbrook '21158158
12BerkeleyNicolai Sponholtz '19173173
13UNRRyan Conner '21183183
14UC Santa CruzBanana Slug's 2199MRP199
15BerkeleyCorbett Churan '21218218

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.