NEISA Men's Singlehanded Championship


Saturday, September 23:

Racing got underway around noon with a 10-13 knot northerly breeze that tapered as the day went on and strong ebbing tide. 9 races were sailed in both the men's and women's fleets. No protests were filed, and there was one competitor who RAFed.

Many thanks to PRO Steve Kirkpatrick and race committee members Jane Kirkpatrick, Bob Yaylaian, Carder Stout, and Spencer Cartwright. Also, we were very lucky to have photographer Rob Migliaccio taking photos. John Moulthrop served as the ChUmp with Amy Ferreira and John Tagliamonte helping as judges. Brian Swingly served as the NEISA representative. Coast Guard, Conn. College, Harvard, Brown, the Enright family and Bristol Yacht Club helped provide coach, RC and judge boats.

Sunday, September 24:

There was very little wind for most of the day on Sunday. But there were signs of breeze in the Sakonnet River late in the afternoon. NEISA Rep. Swingly and PRO Kirkpatrick decided to get the fleet on the water in a final attempt to get some racing in. Just after 2 a southerly breeze started filling on the south side of the Mt. Hope Bridge. Racing was held on the far side of the channel near Common Fence Point to escape the current as much as possible. One race was sailed in the ESE breeze that ultimately filled in.

Congratulations to Nicholas Baird Yale '19, Scott Rasmussen BC '20, Malcolm Lamphere Yale '18, and Alp Rodopman Tufts '17 for qualifying for Nationals! Go NEISA!

Score summary

1YaleNicholas Baird '194444
*2Boston CollegeScott Rasmussen '205050
*3YaleMalcolm Lamphere '185050
4TuftsAlp Rodopman '175555
5Coast GuardAndrew Widmeier '207171
6Roger WilliamsMartim Anderson '187777
7BrownPatrick Shanahan '199292
8HarvardAndrew Puopolo '199696
9Roger WilliamsPeter Neal '20113113
10Coast GuardGage Schoenherr '21115115
11Coast GuardRichie Gordon '21122122
12BowdoinChristian Filter '20131131
*13HarvardJackson Wagner '19135135
*14Roger WilliamsDaniel Petrovic '19135135
15Boston UniversityJavier De urdanibia panos '21138138
16HarvardJonas Nelle '22139139
17Boston UniversityCollin Alexander '20146146
18Roger WilliamsPreston Duclos '19154154
19Maine MaritimeCameron Loncoski '20156156
20Roger WilliamsPaul de Souza '21182182
21VermontCharles Hicks '20189189
22BrownGabriel Hannon '20200200
23YaleAdam Wolnikowski '21217217
24Rhode IslandPeter Gunn '20231231
25U. Mass/ AmherstHugh Dougherty '21234234
26Connecticut CollegePhillip Rosenthall '18251251
27VermontArthur Milot '19259259
*Number of high-place (1) finishes

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.