The 77th Professor Schell Trophy


Saturday, October 28:

The 77th annual Professor Erwin Schell Trophy was hosted under perfect spectating conditions with the start line just 20 seconds to windward of the dock and lots of parents, friends and other assorted spectators filling the roof and deck areas. The Fall New England Championship honors the MIT professor who first organized dinghy sailing at MIT in 1935 and was instrumental in fundraising for the initial fleet of 36 tech dinghies and building the sailing pavilion in 1936.

Although there were some bizarre shifts, the conditions were 'classic Charles River' with temps hovering near 70 all day. A Division sailed Fireflies while B Division spent the day in turbo FJs. One scoring request for redress by Yale in race 3A will be heard first thing on Sunday morning. Any interested parties are welcome to attend at 930am. Jeff Dusek and Stew Neff were officiating all day as our judges. Mike Kalin tweaked marks and gates all day and the following MIT sailors rotated through the finish boat and scoring updates all day long- John Ped, Marcus Abate, Alex Bost, Stephen Duncan, Fiona McKellar, Nathan Assefa.

The MIT Team is looking very comfortable on their favorite river sitting on a 33 point lead at the end of the day. URI, Tufts, and Roger Williams are piled together for second, third, and fourth with BU, Brown and Dartmouth rounding out the top 7 Atlantic Coast qualifying spots for New England. Those on the outside looking in are very tough and will certainly make everyone work hard up through the last race of the day tomorrow. Included in this grouping are Coast Guard, Bowdoin, Yale, Boston College and Harvard. With eight races in both divisions lots of changes can happen. Bigger breeze will bring athleticism, strength and conditioning into play.

Franny Charles MIT Sailing Master

Sunday, October 29:

The MIT Engineers kept up their form with a 64 point victory in the classic fall New England Championship. Winning both divisions with Ty Ingam and Sameena Shaffeeullah in A and Trevor Long, Julia Cho and Marcus Abate winning B Division. Roger Williams stayed consistent and wrapped up second while Yale rallied from a tough Saturday to finish third.

BU, Dartmouth (with a remarkable performance today by Christopher Williford and Rebecca McElvain), Tufts, and Brown filled the remaining NE berths for the Atlantic Coast Championship. There were no boat breakdowns and no protests filed today.

Thanks again to all the MIT Sailing Team members who assisted in regatta management along with Coach Mike Kalin. Jeff Dusek was on hand to administer justice.

Franny Charles MIT Sailing Master

Score summary

2Roger WilliamsHawks124119243
4Boston UniversityTerriers16596261
5DartmouthBig Green97177274
9Boston CollegeEagles176122298
10Rhode IslandRams156154310
11BowdoinPolar Bears163165328
12Coast GuardBears182154336
14Connecticut CollegeCamels215199414
16Salve ReginaSeahawks229228457
17New HampshireWildcats259273532

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.