LaserPerformance Men's Singlehanded Championship


Saturday, November 7:

The great forecast predicting wind all weekend turned out to be just that, only a forecast. Reality was a bit harsher on Day 1 of the 2015 LaserPerformance Men's Singlehanded Championship as the breeze spent a good part of the day somewhere other than the race course. Multiple races were abandoned and all the efforts to get good racing in resulted in 3 races completed in 3-6 knots of breeze on a combination of Trapezoid and Windward-Leeward courses. On the water judges led by Christine Accettella gave out 5 yellow flag penalties in the 3 races and the ODU Sailors did a great job moving marks and shuttling coaches in the rain. Freshman sailor Nic Baird from Yale leads the fleet but with only 3 out of the scheduled 14 races completed, it is anyone's game.

Racing resumes tomorrow at 9:30 and hopefully the breeze is a bit more helpful.

Sunday, November 8:

The final day of the 2015 LaserPerformance Men's Singlehanded National Championship came to a close in dramatic fashion. Sailors were greeted with a nice 15 knot NE breeze that held for most of the day. The fresh conditions allowed the sailors to stretch their legs a bit and enjoy some classic Laser conditions off the wind as well. 8 races were completed with a short lunch break. After the break the breeze tapered down to 6-10 knots with large oscillations. The racing was tight throughout the fleet but the top 4 boats entered the last race with only 5 points separating them. By the halfway point in the race, Malcolm Lamphere of Yale and Juan Perdomo from Harvard began to separate themselves from their closest competitors. As Juan was able to hold his lead to the finish the points were close coming into the closing few boat-lengths. In the end, Malcolm was able to stay just close enough with a 3rd to take the championship by 3 points.

One breakdown was heard and granted due to a broken hiking strap but otherwise no protests or requests for redress were filed. A big thanks to Christine Accettella and her crew of judges including John Pratt, Peter Johns, and Mary Hall. And thank you to John Hanna for providing his boat as a coaching platform.

College Sailors are wonderfully supported by our title sponsor LaserPerformance, Official Supplier of Boats; the fleet was facilitated by Sturgis Boat Works, and we had supporting sponsorship from Patagonia.

Congratulations to Yale's Malcolm Lamphere '18 on the win.

Score summary

1YaleMalcolm Lamphere '184444
2HarvardJuan Perdomo '174747
*3CharlestonEnrique Arathoon '165252
*4CharlestonStefano Peschiera '185252
5YaleJoseph Kiss '176464
6StanfordLuke Muller '186666
7YaleNicholas Baird '197474
8GeorgetownNevin Snow '167878
9George WashingtonBrendan Shanahan '179999
10CharlestonReed Baldridge '16115115
11NavyGary Prieto '18116116
*12St. Mary'sMarkus Edegran '16129129
*13BerkeleyRichard Didham '18129129
14Texas A&M GalvestonJohn Hanna '19138138
15Oregon StateMichael Levy '19153153
16Washington UJames Harvey '17161161
17Michigan StateMatthew Declercq '17173173
18WisconsinNathan Jamieson '17187187
*Head-to-head tiebreaker

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.