NEISA Men's Singlehanded Champs


Saturday, September 28:

26 Lasers showed up for the Men's NEISA Singlehanded Champs at Yale. The first (W4) race of the Day was started in a nice northerly of 6-12 knot just outside Short Beach Cove in Long Island Sound. By the finish the wind had slowly decreased in speed to about 4 knots and by the time the last boat finished it was around 2 knots. While we waited the wind died completely and we went in for lunch at 11:45. at 1:30pm the wind filled from the south and started racing by 1:45 and did 4 W4 races in a southerly anywhere from 3-6 knots. By the finish of the last race the wind was calm and the sailors hit the dock at 5:30. The I flag was flown all afternoon but there were still 3 general recalls and many OCS boats which restarted. The judges for the weekend are Kyle Kovacks (Harvard '08) and Meredith Killion (Yale '04). Thanks you! One protest was filed resulting in a DSQ. First race is at 10:00am tomorrow. Mitchell Kiss from Yale currently leads the fleet.

Sunday, September 29:

By 9:30am the sailors were leaving the dock for race number 6 in a dying northerly for a 10am start. As they arrived at the starting line the wind had completely died. After a short wait an easterly slowly filled and a course was set. By 10:45 the Lasers were off on a course 4. Just as the last boat was finishing the wind died again so we did a lunch break on the water. Between 1pm and 4pm we did 3 more course 4's. Around 4:10 we started the last race only to have it abandoned as the course glassed off. The last race with a building easterly was started at 4:24pm. Many Thanks to Meredith Killion and Kyle Kovack for lending their time to judge this event. And thank you to our Undergrads, Astrid Pacini, Megan Valentine and Emily Johnson for helping in the RC boat. John Mollicone did a great job as NEISA rep. Congratulations to Ian Barrows, Mitchell Kiss, Juan Perdomo, and Michael Zonnenberg for qualifying for the Singlehanded National Championship.

Score summary

1YaleIan Barrows '173636
2YaleJoseph Kiss '173838
3HarvardJuan Perdomo '175252
4VermontMichael Zonnenberg '155959
*5Coast GuardAvery Fanning '167878
*6HarvardMarek Zaleski '167878
7MITDavid Alfonso '148787
8TuftsAlp Rodopman '178989
9BowdoinJack McGuire '179696
**10BrownReid Secondo '16121121
**11Coast GuardDylan Finneran '15121121
12BrownLucas Adams '15126126
13BrownJames Barry '16127127
14Boston CollegeDomenic Bove '15131131
15BowdoinMatthew Lyons '17137137
16TuftsRolfe Glover '16139139
17TuftsJames Beatty '17144144
18Boston CollegeRyan Schmitz '15146146
19Salve ReginaRobert Lippincott '14160160
20MITJoseph Paggi '16175175
21BrownMacklin Fluehr '17189189
22Salve ReginaPierce Conlin '15220220
23YaleEric Anderson '16224224
24NortheasternPeter Christensen '18236236
25Sacred HeartDavid Tampellini '17253253
26Sacred HeartBrian Reilly '16257257
*Number of high-place (2) finishes
**Number of high-place (3) finishes

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.