NEISA Match Race Championship


Sunday, October 7:

NEISA Match Racing Championship for the Larry White Trophy hosted by the New York Yacht Club and Brown University, Newport, RI October 6-7, 2012

Saturday: Conditions for Saturday of the NEISA Match Racing Championship hosted by the New York Yacht Club/Brown were ideal. Great breeze from the S/SW at 8-10 knots to start the day and eventually building to 10-15 with select races of sustained 15-20. All races were sailed in Sonars on a W4 course. A full round robin was completed with the seven teams who arrived, but unfortunately Maine Maritime did not show up. In their head-to-head match, both Conn College and Mass Maritime were OCS and did not return, resulting in the only sail off of the day.

Round-Robin Results (to determine Quarterfinal Seeding) 1. Brown 6-1 Brown beat Tufts head to head 2. Tufts 6-1 3. Roger Williams 5-2 Roger Williams beat Yale head to head 4. Yale 5-2 5. MIT 3-4 6. Conn College 2-5 7. Mass Maritime 1-6 8. Maine Maritime 0-7

Quarterfinal match-ups and winners 1. Brown vs. 8. Maine Maritime- Winner Brown by default 2. Tufts vs. 7. Mass Maritime- Winner Tufts 2-0 3. RWU vs. 6. Conn College- Winner RWU 2-0 4. Yale vs. 5. MIT- Winner Yale 2-1

Sunday: On the second day of the NEISA Match Racing Champs we saw very different conditions from day one. Today we had light and shifty conditions out of the North at 5-8 for the majority of the morning with dying breeze as the day progressed. We completed both the semifinal round (top 4 teams) and the finals with petit finals despite the less than ideal conditions. In the semifinal round, #2 seeded Tufts defeated #3 seeded Roger Williams 3-0, while #4 seeded Yale defeated #1 seeded Brown 3-1 despite losing race one of the series. In the petit finals, Brown defeated Roger Williams to claim third 2 races to 1. Yale defeated Tufts 2-0 in the finals match to win this year’s NEISA Match Racing Championship for the Larry White Trophy. All racing was completed by 2pm before the rain came. Congratulations to both Yale and Tufts for qualifying for this year’s ICSA Match Racing National Championship.

Final Results with RP info: 1. Yale (Chris Segerblom '14 (Skipper), Graham Landy '15, Max Nickbarg '14, Marly Isler '16) 2. Tufts (Will Haeger '14 (Skipper), Solomon Krevins '14, Paula Grasberger '14, David Leibenberg '14) 3. Brown (Tyler Rice '4 (Skipper), Judge Ryan '14, Tommy Fink '13, Ashley Noble '13) 4. RWU (Alec Anderson '13 (Skipper), Dylan Vogel '15, Annie Schmidt '14, Connor Corgard '16) 5. MIT (Philip Crain '13 (Skipper), David Larson '16, Joe Paggi '16, Laura Dunphy '15) 6. Conn College (Bryce Kopp '16 (Skipper), Emily Vasiliou '16, Alexander Giordano '15, Sarah Price '14) 7. Mass Martime (Andrew Morgan '15 (Skipper), Tim Dexter '14, Leah Saunders '16, Nicholaus Pehr '15) 8. Maine Maritime (No Show)

Many thanks to our great group of umpires: John Pratt (Chief Umpire), Kerry Sullivan, Sue Reilly, Tom Duggan, Becca Dellenbaugh, Sean Bouchard, and John Moulthrop. A huge thanks to the Race Committee team of Amy Fisher, Alie Bittl, Shaun Kilbride and Brown Freshmen Reid Secondo and James Barry. Also thanks to Beth Duggan, Brad Dellenbaugh, Sean Kilbride (who prepared the fleet of Sonars) and the NYYC for hosting and putting this event together. Thanks as well to Greg Wilkinson for helping with NOR, SI's, and rotation. Regards, Matt Duggan, PRO John Mollicone, Event Organizer

Score summary

4Roger WilliamsHawks44
6Connecticut CollegeCamels66
7Mass MaritimeBuccaneers77