



2016 LaserPerformance College Sailing Team Racing National Championship For the Walter C. Wood Trophy

San Diego Yacht Club & Pacific Coast Collegiate Sailing Conference San Diego, CA May 27-30, 2016

Supporting Sponsorship from: Marlow, official supplier of ICSA; and US Sailing

NOTICE OF RACE

1. RULES

- 1.1. The Organizing Authority (OA) is the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association in conjunction with hosts the San Diego Yacht Club and the Pacific Coast Collegiate Sailing Conference.
- 1.2. This regatta shall be governed by the current Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS), ICSA Procedural Rules, ICSA Collegiate Dinghy Class Rules, General Conditions for the ICSA Championships, Conditions for the ICSA Team Racing National Championship, and this Notice of Race, except as modified by the Sailing Instructions.
- 1.3. RRS D2.2 shall be used (as changed by the ICSA Procedural and Collegiate Dinghy Class Rules).

2. CAMERAS AND ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT

2.1. Boats may be required to carry cameras, sound equipment or positioning equipment as specified by the Organizing Authority.

3. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 3.1. All entrants must meet ICSA eligibility requirements and have qualified from their Conference Championship according to the Conditions for the event.
- 3.2. Entry fee is \$500 per team payable online to ICSA.
- 3.3. Teams shall register as soon as possible after their Conference Championship and no later than May 10 by completing the online registration and paying all fees.

4. SCHEDULE AND NUMBER OF RACES

4.1. The regatta format for the First Round and for the Finals will be a single round robin as per ICSA PR 22 and the event conditions.

4.2. Schedule:

May 27

1900 Competitors' Briefing – San Diego Yacht Club

May 28

1030 First Warning

Racing to Follow

May 29

1030 First Warning

Racing to Follow

May 30

1030 First Warning

Racing to Follow

1700 No Start Signal After

Awards immediately following racing – Port of San Diego Pier







5. FORMAT

- 5.1. The preferred format is a Preliminary Round of all 16 teams, followed by a round of the top 8 teams from the Preliminary Round, followed by a round of the top 4 teams from both previous rounds.
- 5.2. If time does not permit the format in 5.1, the format shall be a Preliminary Round of all 16 teams, followed by a round of the top 4 teams from the Preliminary Round, followed by a round of the top 4 teams from both previous rounds.
- 5.3. If, in the opinion of the PRO in consultation with the ICSA Rep, prior to race 91 it becomes unlikely that the Preliminary Round of 16 can be completed, the format shall be changed such that the top four teams from each seeded group of 8 in the first 56 races of the Preliminary Round shall complete a Round Robin of 8 amongst each other, followed by a second Round Robin of 8, followed by a Round Robin of 4 amongst the top four teams from the two rounds of 8. Races already sailed in the Preliminary Round shall not be re-sailed. Races sailed against teams not sailing the first Round Robin of 8 shall not be counted towards a team's cumulative wins.
- 5.4. Seedings to determine the two groups of 8 built into the Preliminary Round Robin shall be determined by the ICSA President & Championship Committee Chairperson after the conclusion of all Conference Championships.

6. BOATS & EQUIPMENT

- 6.1. Collegiate Dinghy FJ's will be provided for competitors, who shall not modify any boat or cause them to be modified in any way. Competitors have the option of rigging the mainsheet purchase either 3:1 or 4:1.
- 6.2. The standing rigging shall not be adjusted.

7. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The Sailing Instructions will be available prior to the competitors' meeting and online at the event website.

8. RACING AREA

The Racing Area will be on the waters of San Diego Bay to the west of the Port of San Diego Cruise Ship Terminals.

9. SPECTATORS

- 9.1. There shall be a spectator exclusion zone (Addendum A). Spectators shall receive 1 warning upon entering the exclusion zone. The second entrance shall be cause for a protest by the OA against the affiliated team(s) under RRS41.
- 9.2. Spectator boats shall not dock at the rotation dock and spectators shall not enter the rotation area. This is considered a field of play and is only open to registered competitors and their coaches.

10. TROPHIES

The Walter C. Wood Trophy will be awarded to the first place team.

11. RIGHTS TO USE NAME AND LIKENESS

By participating in this event, competitors automatically grant to the Organizing Authority and the event sponsors the right, in perpetuity, to make, use and show, at their discretion, any photography, audio and video recordings, and other reproductions of them made at the venue or on the water from the time of their arrival at the venue, until their final departure, without compensation.

12. FURTHER INFORMATION

Visit http://2016nationals.collegesailing.org/ or contact: Danielle Richards, <u>Danielle.Richards@ussailing.net</u>, Regatta Chair







2016 LaserPerformance College Sailing Team Racing National Championship For the Walter C. Wood Trophy

San Diego Yacht Club & Pacific Coast Collegiate Sailing Conference San Diego, CA May 27-30, 2016

Supporting Sponsorship from: Marlow, official supplier of ICSA; and US Sailing

ADDENDUM A

Spectator Exclusion Zone



